EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Chandra Crawford - Athlete, Cross Country Skiing

Born and raised in Canmore, Alberta Chandra Crawford grew up skiing the famed terrain of the Rocky Mountains. Along with her adventurous parents and younger siblings, Chandra had endless opportunities to hike, bike, run, kayak, climb, camp, ski and swim in the mountains. She began competing in biathlon events when she was 12 years old, inspired by fellow Canadian Myriam Bédard’s groundbreaking gold medal performance at the 1994 Olympic Winter Games. After finding her shooting skills could not match her superior talent for skiing, Chandra switched to cross country racing at the age of 17. Training at world-class facilities built for the 1988 Olympic Winter Games, Chandra represented Canada at the World Junior Championships in 2001, 2002 and 2003.

Chandra Crawford made her Olympic debut at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Torino at the age of 22, astonishing the world with a gold medal performance in the 1.1 km sprint event.  A relative unknown on the international stage, Chandra won her first World Cup medal (a bronze in the free sprint), less than a week before the opening of the Olympic Winter Game.  In Torino, she dominated the quarter-final and semi-final heats in her event and reached the finish line in the final race metres ahead of the closest competitor. In that instant, she became only the second North American athlete to win an Olympic gold medal in cross country skiing.  She proceeded to win the hearts of Canadians everywhere by enthusiastically singing the national anthem after ascending to the top step of the Olympic podium.

However, it was before her Olympic victory that Chandra Crawford became a leading light on the Canadian women’s cross country ski team, mentoring other athletes and encouraging kids. In 2005, she established Fast and Female, a not-for-profit organization dedicated to empowering girls between the ages of 8 to 18 to stick with sports and healthy, active lifestyles. Hosting fun-filled, non-competitive athletic events, Fast and Female fosters social acceptance and support for young girls - a demographic group that studies have shown are six times more likely than boys to drop out of sports during adolescence.

In her pursuit of excellence Chandra Crawford has resiliently overcome many challenges and obstacles, missing almost the entire 2008-2009 season after undergoing surgery for compartment syndrome- a condition that caused compressed nerves and blood vessels in her shins.  She retired in 2014 after thirteen years of international competition and seven trips to the World Cup podium. She has since completed a Master’s degree in Business Administration, and spends her days leading Fast and Female to empower thousands of girls across North America annually with the help of hundreds of athlete ambassadors.  Beyond Fast and Female, Chandra’s interests consist of participating with friends and family in yoga, camping, dancing, reading, languages, eating seafood, concerts, and any kind of adventure in the mountains.

Photo: The Canadian Press/Frank Gunn


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Chandra Crawford - Athlète, Ski de fond

Chandra Crawford est née et a grandi à Canmore, en Alberta où elle a passé sa jeunesse à skier dans le fabuleux territoire des montagnes Rocheuses. En compagnie de ses parents à l'esprit aventureux et de ses plus jeunes frères et sœurs, Chandra a eu de multiples occasions de faire de la randonnée, du vélo et du kayak et de courir, escalader, camper, skier et nager dans les montagnes. À l’âge de 12 ans, elle a commencé à participer à des épreuves de biathlon, inspirée par l’exploit inédit de sa compatriote, Myriam Bédard, qui a remporté une médaille d’or aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1994. Réalisant que son habileté au tir n’était pas à la hauteur de son immense talent en ski, elle s’est convertie au ski de fond à l’âge de 17 ans. S’entraînant aux installations de niveau international construites pour les Jeux olympiques de 1988, elle a représenté le Canada aux Championnats du monde juniors en 2001, 2002 et 2003.

Chandra Crawford a fait ses débuts olympiques aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2006 à Turin à l’âge de 22 ans et a surpris le monde entier, remportant la médaille d’or à l’épreuve de sprint de 1,1 km. Méconnue sur la scène internationale, Chandra Crawford a gagné sa première médaille en Coupe du monde (le bronze à l'épreuve de sprint en style libre) moins d’une semaine avant le début des Jeux olympiques d’hiver. À Turin, elle a dominé les quarts et les demi-finales du sprint et en finale, elle a devancé sa plus proche rivale de plusieurs mètres au fil d’arrivée. À ce moment, elle est devenue seulement la deuxième athlète nord-américaine à gagner une médaille d’or olympique en ski de fond. Par la suite, debout sur la plus haute marche du podium olympique, elle a conquis les cœurs de tous les Canadiens en chantant avec ferveur l’hymne national.

Toutefois, c’est bien avant sa victoire aux Jeux olympiques que Chandra Crawford est devenue une figure marquante au sein de l’équipe canadienne féminine de ski de fond, agissant comme mentore et encourageant les athlètes plus jeunes. En 2005, elle a créé Fast and Female, une organisation sans but lucratif, dédié à encourager les jeunes filles de 8 à 18 ans à continuer à pratiquer le sport et à adopter une vie saine et active. Organisant des activités sportives non compétitives et amusantes, Fast and Female favorise l’acceptabilité sociale et offre du soutien aux jeunes filles, un groupe démographique pour lequel des études ont démontré qu’elles sont six fois plus susceptibles que les garçons d’abandonner la pratique sportive au cours de l’adolescence.

Dans sa quête d’excellence, Chandra Crawford a surmonté avec résilience plusieurs défis et obstacles, ainsi lorsqu’elle a dû s’absenter pendant presque la totalité de la saison 2008-2009 après avoir subi une intervention chirurgicale pour le syndrome de loges, une condition causant la compression de nerfs et de vaisseaux sanguins à l’avant de ses jambes. Elle a pris sa retraite en 2014 après 13 années de compétition internationale et 7 présences sur les podiums en Coupe du monde. Depuis, elle a obtenu une maîtrise en administration des affaires et occupe ses journées à diriger Fast and Female afin de soutenir annuellement des milliers de jeunes filles partout en Amérique du Nord avec l’aide de centaines d’athlètes ambassadrices. En plus de Fast and Female, les autres intérêts de Chandra sont de participer avec les membres de sa famille et ses amis à des activités de yoga, de camping, de danse, d’apprentissage de langues; elle aime manger des fruits de mer, assister à des concerts et faire toutes sortes d’activités en montagne.

Photo: La Presse Canadienne/Frank Gunn


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7