EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Damon Allen - Athlete, Football

Over the course of his remarkable 23-year career, Damon Allen secured an outstanding legacy as one of the most distinguished quarterbacks in the history of the Canadian Football League (CFL). Originally hailing from California, Damon began playing football at the age of six.  A naturally gifted athlete, after an exceptional college football career at Cal State Fullerton he was drafted by the Detroit Tigers and briefly considered pursuing a career in professional baseball. Fortunately for football fans, in 1985 he decided to pursue opportunities north of the border, setting entirely new standards for excellence on the gridiron in Canada.  

Damon Allen’s CFL career spanned three decades and four Grey Cup Championships (1987, 1993, 2000, 2004), three Grey Cup Most Valuable Player Awards (1987, 1993, 2004) and one CFL Most Outstanding Player Award (2005). He dazzled Canadian football fans across the country, playing for no less than six different teams, including the Edmonton Eskimos, Ottawa Rough Riders, Hamilton Tiger-Cats, B.C. Lions and Toronto Argonauts. When he retired in 2008, Damon was professional football’s All Time Passing Leader with 72,381 yards and held the CFL record for All-Time Rushing Yards by a Quarterback with 11,914 yards. He also held the CFL record for Most Pass Attempts (9,138), Most Pass Completions (5,158), and Most Touchdown Passes (394).

Damon Allen’s stunning achievements in the CFL reflect his unwavering commitment to leadership, personal accountability and a desire to play to the best of his ability whenever he took to the field. These qualities made it possible to excel even in challenging circumstances. Early in his CFL career, Damon was called upon by the Edmonton Eskimos to replace injured veteran Matt Dunigan partway through the 1987 Grey Cup game.  Even though Damon had seen only limited action as a backup player, he led the team to victory with a thrilling performance and was named Most Valuable Offensive Player in the championship game that year.

Damon Allen continues to serve the community after retiring from the CFL, promoting amateur football in Canada and raising awareness for men’s health issues. He hosts two celebrity golf tournaments each year: one in Edmonton, Alberta in support of autism and another in Toronto, supporting parents affected by post-partum depression. Damon currently serves as Ambassador for the Toronto Argonauts and remains involved in his Quarterback Academy (D9 QB Academy). 

Photo: The Canadian Press/Frank Gunn


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Damon Allen - Athlète, Football

Au cours de sa remarquable carrière de 23 années, Damon Allen a laissé un héritage exceptionnel à titre de l’un des quarts-arrière les plus émérites de l’histoire de la Ligue canadienne de football (LCF). Originaire de la Californie, Damon Allen a commencé à jouer au football à l’âge de six ans. Possédant des habiletés athlétiques innées, il a connu une carrière universitaire exceptionnelle en football à Cal State Fullerton pour être par la suite repêché par les Tigers de Détroit et pour un instant, a considéré poursuivre une carrière au baseball. Heureusement pour les amateurs de football, il a décidé, en 1985, d’explorer les opportunités de football au nord de la frontière, établissant des standards d’excellence inédits au Canada.

La carrière de Damon Allen a couvert trois décennies et a été marquée par quatre Championnats de la Coupe Grey (1987, 1993, 2000, 2004), trois trophées remis au joueur le plus utile de la Coupe Grey (1987, 1993, 2004) et un trophée à titre de meilleur joueur de la LCF (2005). Il a émerveillé les amateurs de football partout au pays, portant les couleurs de pas moins de six équipes différentes, y compris les Eskimos d’Edmonton, les Rough Riders d’Ottawa, les Tiger-Cats de Hamilton, les Lions de la Colombie-Britannique et les Argonauts de Toronto. Au moment de sa retraite en 2008, il était le meneur de tous les temps au football professionnel pour les verges acquises par la passe avec 72 381 et détenait le record de la LCF pour le plus grand nombre de verges gagnées par la course par un quart-arrière avec 11 914. Il détenait également les records de la LCF pour le plus grand nombre de passes tentées (9138), le plus grand nombre de passes réussies (5158) et le plus grand nombre de passes de touché (394).

Les exploits remarquables de Damon Allen dans la LCF reflètent son engagement inconditionnel comme leader et à être personnellement redevable et aussi son désir de performer au meilleur de son habileté chaque fois qu’il se présentait sur le terrain. Ces qualités lui ont permis d’exceller même dans les situations présentant de grands défis. Tôt en carrière, les Eskimos d’Edmonton l'ont envoyé dans la mêlée pour remplacer Matt Dunigan, leur vétéran quart-arrière, blessé au cours du match de la Coupe Grey de 1987. Même si Damon Allen n'a eu qu'une participation limitée à titre de remplaçant, il a mené l’équipe à la victoire avec une performance époustouflante et a été nommé le joueur offensif le plus utile de la rencontre.

Après avoir pris sa retraite de la LCF, Damon Allen s'est mis au service de la communauté, faisant la promotion du football amateur au Canada et travaillant à augmenter la conscientisation concernant les problèmes de santé particuliers aux hommes. Il est hôte de deux tournois des célébrités chaque année : le premier à Edmonton, en Alberta, en soutien à l’autisme et l’autre à Toronto, en soutien aux parents aux prises avec la dépression post-partum. Il agit comme ambassadeur pour les Argonauts de Toronto et est toujours impliqué dans son académie pour quarts-arrière (D9 QB Academy). 

Photo: La Presse Canadienne/Frank Gunn

Les Intronisés de 2018