EN | FR
Doug Mitchell

Join our e-newsletter list for Sport + Spirit!

X


Photo credit - Courtesy of Doug Mitchell

Doug Mitchell, CM, AOE, QC, LLD – National Co-Chair, Borden Ladner Gervais – Builder – Multi-Sport

Athletic achievement is often not possible without exceptional coaches, administrators, organizers and volunteers working tirelessly behind the scenes to help others reach their full potential. At one time or another, Doug Mitchell has been all of these things, building a powerful legacy of leadership, community service and philanthropy that has continually bolstered support for amateur and professional sport in Canada.  

Born and raised in Calgary, Doug attended Colorado College on a hockey scholarship, graduating with a B.A. in Business Administration. He went on to study law at the University of British Columbia, playing football for the UBC Thunderbirds. His leadership and outstanding commitment to teamwork were already evident as a varsity athlete, and in 1959 Doug helped the Thunderbirds reach the national final.  He went on to play professionally in the Canadian Football League for the B.C. Lions and the Hamilton Tiger-Cats before settling back in Calgary to raise a family and pursue his legal career.

Doug often proved to have the Midas touch, guiding critically important Canadian sport institutions through difficult situations with great integrity by promoting sustainable growth and responsible models of governance. In 1984, he took a five year hiatus from his thriving law career to serve as Commissioner of the Canadian Football League. Holding this position until 1988, he introduced a salary cap policy that stabilized the League’s economic difficulties.  He continues to serve as a member of the CFL Board of Directors and is a part owner of the Calgary Stampeders after repatriating the team from American ownership in 2005. His careful stewardship helped revive community interest in the club after several years of poor performances and low revenues.

Beyond his passion for Canadian football, Doug’s love of hockey led to him playing a pivotal role in promoting Canada’s Olympic hockey program. In 1978, he chaired an advisory group that garnered support and funding from Hockey Canada to ensure a viable national team competed in the 1980 Olympic Winter Games after a twelve year absence. He has also created numerous scholarships and endowments to support amateur and varsity athletes in Canada, including the BLG Awards (now Lieutenant Governor Athletic Awards) honouring outstanding Canadian university athletes for academic accomplishments and community service as well as their achievements in sport. Recognizing Doug’s tireless promotion of varsity sport, in 2002 Canadian Interuniversity Sport (now U SPORTS) renamed its western semifinal football championship the Mitchell Bowl.

His extraordinary record of public service also includes leadership roles with United Way of Calgary, the Canadian Bar Association, Campbell McLaurin Foundation for the Hearing Handicapped, and serving in uniform as Honourary Colonel of the King’s Own Regiment in Calgary. Among the many honours and titles he has received, in 2004 Doug was invested into the Order of Canada, and in 2007 he was awarded the Alberta Order of Excellence. He was inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 2002, and the UBC Football Hall of Fame in 2012, the BC Football Hall of Fame in 2015 and the Colorado College Hall of Fame in 2016. His generosity and leadership have built an unprecedented community of support for Canadian sport, ensuring the shared value of athletic experience remains comprehensible, accessible and appealing to people all across the nation.

Events

EN | FR

Doug Mitchell, CM, AOE, c.r., LL.D. – Coprésident national, Borden Ladner Gervais – Bâtisseur – Multisport

Les exploits sportifs sont souvent impossibles sans la présence d’entraîneurs, administrateurs, organisateurs et bénévoles exceptionnels qui travaillent sans relâche dans l’ombre pour aider les autres à atteindre leur plein potentiel. À un moment ou l’autre, Doug Mitchell a joué tous ces rôles, créant un important héritage de leadership, service communautaire et philanthropie qui a constamment soutenu le sport amateur et professionnel au Canada.

Doug Mitchell est né et a grandi à Calgary. Il a joué au hockey au Colorado College grâce à une bourse d’études, obtenant un B.A. en administration des affaires. Par la suite, il a étudié le droit à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, tout en jouant au football pour les Thunderbirds de UBC. Son leadership et son engagement remarquable envers le travail d’équipe étaient déjà en évidence comme athlète universitaire, et en 1959, il a aidé les Thunderbirds à atteindre la finale nationale. Il a par la suite joué professionnellement dans la Ligue canadienne de football pour les Lions de la Colombie-Britannique et les Tiger-Cats de Hamilton, avant de revenir à Calgary pour fonder une famille et poursuivre sa carrière d’avocat.

Il s’est souvent avéré que Doug Mitchell ait la touche magique, aidant, avec la plus grande intégrité, d’importantes institutions sportives canadiennes à traverser des périodes difficiles en faisant la promotion de développement durable et de modèles responsables de gouvernance. En 1984, il a mis en veilleuse sa carrière florissante d’avocat pour une période de cinq ans afin d’agir comme commissaire de la Ligue canadienne de football. Occupant ce poste jusqu’en 1988, il a mis en place un plafond salarial qui a stabilisé les problèmes financiers de la ligue. Il continue de siéger comme membre du conseil d’administration de la LCF et est propriétaire minoritaire des Stampeders de Calgary, à la suite du rapatriement de cette équipe de propriétaires américains en 2005. Sa gouvernance prudente a aidé à faire revivre l’intérêt de la communauté auprès de cette équipe après plusieurs années de piètres performances et de faibles revenus.

En plus de sa passion pour le football canadien, la passion de Doug Mitchell pour le hockey l’a amené à jouer un rôle crucial dans la promotion du programme olympique de hockey du Canada. En 1978, il a présidé un groupe conseil qui a obtenu de l’appui et du financement de la part de Hockey Canada pour faire en sorte qu’une équipe nationale viable participe aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1980, après une absence de douze ans. Il a également instauré de nombreuses bourses d’études et fonds de dotation pour soutenir les athlètes amateurs et universitaires au Canada, y compris les prix BLG (devenus les Prix sportifs du Lieutenant-Gouverneur), qui récompensent les athlètes universitaires exceptionnels pour leurs résultats académiques et leur service communautaire et aussi pour leurs performances sportives. En 2002, en reconnaissance du soutien constant de Doug Mitchell pour le sport universitaire, Sport interuniversitaire canadien (maintenant U SPORT) a renommé son match de demi-finale de l’Ouest, la Coupe Mitchell.

Sa feuille de route extraordinaire de service public comprend aussi des rôles de leader avec Centraide Calgary, l’Association du Barreau canadien, la fondation Campbell McLaurin pour les malentendants et le service en uniforme comme colonel honoraire du King’s Own Regiment, à Calgary. Parmi les nombreux honneurs et titres qu’il a reçus, il a été fait membre de l’Ordre du Canada en 2004 et a reçu l'Alberta Order of Excellence en 2007. Il a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée des sports de l’Alberta en 2002, au Temple de la renommée de football de UBC en 2012, au Temple de la renommée de football de la Colombie-Britannique en 2015 et au Temple de la renommée du Colorado College en 2016. Sa générosité et son leadership ont bâti une communauté d’aide sans précédent pour le sport au Canada, faisant en sorte que les valeurs partagées de l’expérience sportive demeurent compréhensibles, accessibles et attirantes pour tous partout au pays.

Événements