EN | FR
Waneek Horn-Miller

Join our e-newsletter list for Sport + Spirit!

X

Photo Credit - 2000 Canadian Olympic Team

Waneek Horn-Miller – Athlete – Water Polo

A Mohawk of the Kahnawake territory, Waneek Horn-Miller learned at an early age that standing her ground in the face of injustice would require tremendous strength and resilience. When she was 14 years old, Waneek was on the front lines of history, protesting development on sacred land at Oka in 1990. When violence broke out between Canadian soldiers and Mohawk militants on the last day of the standoff, Waneek was stabbed near the heart by a bayonet. Suffering a near fatal wound, the traumatic experience fuelled her dreams as an athlete and activist determined to make a difference in the world.

After the Oka crisis, athletic pursuits helped Waneek heal from the emotional wounds she had suffered.  Between 1990 and 1997, she won over 20 medals in multiple events at the North American Indigenous Games. Waneek also carried the flame in the Sacred Run Canada, passing a torch between Indigenous communities to demonstrate strength and unity. She started playing water polo in high school, developing a fiercely competitive spirit and powerful shooting arm. Continuing to excel in her chosen sport while studying political science, Waneek was first named Carleton University’s female athlete of the year in the 1994-1995 season, repeating the honour for three consecutive years.

In 1999, Waneek was voted MVP of the Canadian women’s water polo team after winning a Gold medal at the Pan American Games in Winnipeg. The same year, she received the Tom Longboat Award, recognizing Aboriginal athletes for outstanding contributions to sport in Canada. In 2000, Waneek was named co-captain of the Canadian women’s water polo team at the Olympic Games in Sydney, Australia. Breaking new ground the first year her sport was included on the Olympic roster, Waneek was also the first Mohawk woman from Canada to compete at the Olympic Games, something she had dreamed of achieving since surviving Oka.   

Despite her winning ways, after nine years with the national program, Water Polo Canada dismissed Waneek in 2003, after she led a group of athletes to force Water Polo Canada to look into their claims of coach abuse of athletes. An investigation ultimately led to their firing. Waneek refuted the claim that her dismissal was due to team cohesion, but rather it was a discriminatory misinterpretation of her Indigenous teachings of honour and leadership, and that she as the co-captain should protect her teammates no matter what.  Challenging her coaches and fellow athletes to arbitration, Waneek stood her ground. Ultimately she did not return to the team, but her coaches and teammates were required to undergo cultural and Indigenous sensitivity training, raising public awareness of the challenges often faced by Indigenous athletes in Canada.

In 2010, Waneek was honoured as Canada’s torchbearer at the Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver. Waneek continues to promote positive social change as a motivational speaker and role model.  In 2015, Waneek was named one of Canada’s most influential women in sport by the Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women in Sport (CAAWS). Currently, she is pursuing her graduate studies in Indigenous Studies in Kinesiology at the University of British Columbia where she is focusing on Indigenous motivation and is hoping her studies lead to tools that the Indigenous and non-Indigenous world can use to help athletes excel.

 

Events

EN | FR

Waneek Horn-Miller – Athlète – Water-polo

Membre de la nation mohawk de Kahnawake, Waneek Horn-Miller a appris à un jeune âge que se tenir debout devant l’injustice demande énormément de force et de résilience. Alors qu’elle avait 14 ans, elle était en première ligne d'un moment historique, protestant contre un développement immobilier sur des terres sacrées à Oka, en 1990. Lorsque des actes de violence ont éclaté entre les soldats canadiens et les militants mohawks au dernier jour de l’affrontement, elle a été blessée près du cœur par une baïonnette. Cette expérience traumatique d’avoir souffert cette blessure presque mortelle a nourri ses rêves comme athlète et activiste, déterminée à changer les choses dans le monde.

Après la crise d’Oka, les activités sportives ont aidé Waneek Horn-Miller à guérir les blessures émotionnelles qu’elle avait subies. Entre 1990 et 1997, elle a remporté plus de 20 médailles aux Jeux autochtones de l’Amérique du Nord. Elle a aussi porté le flambeau lors de la course sacrée, qui transporte un flambeau entre les communautés autochtones, symbolisant force et d’unité. Elle a commencé à jouer au water-polo à l’école secondaire, développant un esprit compétitif féroce et un bras puissant. Tout en excellant dans le sport qu’elle avait choisi en poursuivant des études en sciences politiques, elle a été nommée pour la première fois athlète féminine de l’année de l’Université Carleton en 1994-1995, méritant cet honneur trois années consécutivement.

En 1999, Waneek Horn-Miller a été élue joueuse par excellence de l’équipe féminine de water-polo du Canada après leur victoire aux Jeux panaméricains, à Winnipeg. Cette même année, elle a reçu le prix Tom Longboat qui récompense les athlètes autochtones pour leur contribution remarquable au sport au Canada. En 2000, elle a été nommée co-capitaine de l’équipe féminine de water-polo du Canada aux Jeux olympiques à Sydney, en Australie. Faisant partie de l’histoire alors que le water-polo féminin était ajouté au programme olympique pour la première fois, elle a aussi été la première femme mohawk du Canada à participer à des Jeux olympiques, ce dont elle avait rêvé de faire depuis qu’elle avait survécu à Oka.

Malgré ses succès avec l’équipe et après neuf années avec le programme national, Water Polo Canada a renvoyé Waneek Horn-Miller en 2003, après qu’elle a mené un groupe d’athlètes pour obliger Water Polo Canada à examiner leurs revendications d’abus de la part des entraîneurs. Une enquête a ultimement mené à leur renvoi. Waneek a nié l’argument que son renvoi était à cause de la cohésion d’équipe et que c’était plutôt une mauvaise interprétation discriminatoire de son héritage autochtone concernant l’honneur et le leadership, et qu’en tant que co-capitaine, elle a le devoir de protéger ses coéquipières, peu importe les circonstances. Allant jusqu’en arbitrage contre ses entraîneurs et ses coéquipières, elle a maintenu sa position. Ultimement, elle n’est pas retournée avec l’équipe, mais ses entraîneurs et coéquipières furent obligés de suivre un programme de sensibilisation culturelle et autochtone, faisant mieux connaître, auprès du public, les défis que doivent souvent affronter les athlètes autochtones au Canada. 

En 2010, Waneek Horn-Miller a été l’une des porteuses de flambeau lors du relais des Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Vancouver. Elle continue de faire la promotion de changements sociaux positifs en tant que conférencière sur la motivation et comme modèle. En 2015, elle a été nommée l’une des femmes les plus influentes en sport par l’Association canadienne pour l’avancement des femmes et du sport (ACAFS). Présentement, elle mène des études supérieures en études autochtones, plus particulièrement sur la motivation, à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, espérant que ses études déboucheront sur des outils que les personnes autochtones et non autochtones pourront utiliser pour aider les athlètes à exceller.

Événements