EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

CHARMAINE HOOPER

Inducted in 2012

Member Details

Date of Birth: January 15th, 1968
Place of Birth: Georgetown, Guyana
Sport: Soccer
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1986

Member of Canada's 1st National women's team.

Career

Appeared in 129 games and scored 71 goals in 20-year career.

Played for Canada in 3 FIFA World Cups.

Honoured Member CHARMAINE HOOPER
Inspire

Story

Charmaine Hooper’s road to becoming one of Canada’s finest soccer talents did not even begin in Canada. Born in Guyana to a diplomatic family, she began kicking the ball around as an 8-year-old in Zambia when her father was posted there in 1976.

Her brother Lyndon also played, and the fact that he is in Canada’s Soccer Hall of Fame today is testament to the family skill in “the beautiful game.”

Eventually settling in Ottawa, Charmaine made the very first Canadian women’s national soccer team in 1986 and became the first player to be capped 100 times. Over her 20-year career, she appeared in 129 games, scoring 71 goals for Canada. That included three appearances at FIFA Women’s World Cups, the most recent coming in the USA in 2003 when she helped Canada win its first ever game in the international tournament en route to qualifying for the semi-finals.

At that historic World Cup, Charmaine moved up from her position on defence to head in a free kick in the eighth minute. It was the only goal in the team’s 1-0 win over China, and is among the most celebrated moments in her distinguished career.

While representing Canada on the international scene, Charmaine also spent time studying – and playing soccer, of course – in the United States. Upon graduation from North Carolina State University, she had potted 58 goals and amassed 145 points, which is still the all-time leading mark for the school.

International attention grew rapidly following graduation, and Charmaine played pro soccer in Norway, Italy and Japan before returning to the U.S. to play in Chicago and Atlanta. Named MVP three times for the Atlanta Beat and proving herself south of the border, she has since been inducted into the United Soccer League’s Hall of Fame, in 2002. Ten years later, and after closing out her career as an international player in 2006, she is also a member of Canada’s Soccer Hall of Fame.

Besides winning accolades as Canada’s Female Player of the Year in 1994, 1995 and 2002, she was named honorary ambassador to the first-ever FIFA Under-19 World Cup, which was held in Canada in 2002.

Most recently, Charmaine has been appointed to the FIFA Task Force 2014. Her continued involvement and interest in the game are now inspiring a whole new generation of Canadian players.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

CHARMAINE HOOPER

Intronisé en 2012

Détails membres

Date de naissance: le 15 janvier, 1968
Lieu d'origine: Georgetown, au Guyana
Sport: Soccer
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1986

A fait partie de la toute première équipe nationale féminine du Canada

Career

A pris part à 129 matchs et marqué 71 buts pour le Canada

Trois participations à la Coupe du monde féminine de la FIFA

Honoured Member CHARMAINE HOOPER
Inspire

Biographie

Le trajet qui a mené Charmaine Hooper au rang des meilleurs talents du soccer canadien ne s’est pas amorcé au Canada. Née au Guyana dans une famille de diplomates, c’est à l’âge de huit ans et en Zambie, où son père était en poste depuis 1976, qu’elle a commencé à donner des coups de pieds au ballon.

Son frère Lyndon a également joué au soccer et sa présence au Temple de la renommée du soccer canadien rend compte du talent que possède cette famille au soccer.

S’étant établie à Ottawa, Charmaine a fait partie de la toute première équipe nationale féminine du Canada en 1986 et elle est devenue la première joueuse à disputer 100 matchs internationaux. Au cours de sa carrière de plus de 20 ans, elle a pris part à 129 matchs et marqué 71 buts pour le Canada. Ce palmarès comprend trois participations à la Coupe du monde féminine de la FIFA, la plus récente s’étant déroulée aux États-Unis en 2003 lorsqu’elle a aidé le Canada à remporter son tout premier match de ce tournoi international, avant de se qualifier pour les demi-finales.

Lors de cette Coupe du monde historique, Charmaine s'est avancée de sa position à la défense pour rediriger de la tête vers le fond du filet un coup franc effectué à la huitième minute. Ce fut l’unique but de ce match remporté par le Canada sur la Chine, et sans doute l’un des moments les plus célébrés de la carrière remarquable de Charmaine.

Pendant qu’elle représentait le Canada sur la scène internationale, Charmaine était également étudiante – et bien évidemment, jouait au soccer – aux États-Unis. Au moment d’obtenir son diplôme de la North Carolina State University, elle avait compté 58 buts et récolté 145 points, marque à ce jour inégalée à cette université.

Après l'obtention de son diplôme, Charmaine a rapidement retenu l’attention sur la scène internationale. Elle a joué professionnellement au soccer en Norvège, en Italie et au Japon avant de retourner aux États-Unis pour jouer à Atlanta et à Chicago. Nommée meilleure joueuse du Beat d’Atlanta à trois reprises, elle a fait sa marque aux États-Unis. Elle a depuis été intronisée au Temple de la renommée de la United Soccer League en 2002. Dix ans plus tard, après avoir mis fin à sa carrière en tant que joueuse internationale en 2006, elle est intronisée au Temple de la renommée du soccer canadien.

En plus d’avoir été nommée joueuse canadienne de l’année en 1994, 1995 et 2002, elle a été nommée ambassadrice honoraire de la toute première Coupe du monde U-19 de la FIFA, qui s’est déroulée au Canada en 2002.

Plus récemment, Charmaine a été nommée au groupe de travail de 2014 pour la FIFA. Son engagement continu et son intérêt pour le soccer sont une source d’inspiration pour une nouvelle génération de joueurs canadiens. 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7