EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

CLARA HUGHES

Inducted in 2010

Member Details

Date of Birth: September 9, 1972
Place of Birth: Winnipeg , Manitoba
Sport: Cycling - Road & Speedskating
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1996

Bronze medal in women’s individual road race 

2002

Won bronze medal in women’s 3,000 metre speed skating at Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City, Utah

2006

Olympic Winter Games in Torino, Italy - gold in women's 5,000 metre speed skating and silver in the team pursuit

2010

Canadian flag bearer at Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver, B.C.

Won bronze medal in women’s 5,000 metre speed skating at the Vancouver Olympic Winter Games

Named an Officer of the Order of Canada

Honoured Member CLARA HUGHES
Inspire

Story

The Olympic dream of Clara Hughes began in 1988 when she caught her first glimpse of the Winter Games on television. Watching speed skaters glide around the oval inspired her to believe that one day she, too, could represent Canada in that same sport. Little did she imagine that in pursuing her speed skating dream, she would first compete in two Olympic Summer Games, in the sport of cycling.

With more than 100 victories under her belt, including two bronze medals in the 1996 Olympic Summer Games, medals in both the Pan American and Commonwealth Games, plus numerous World Cycling and National Championship titles, Clara had established herself as one of the best cyclists in the world. It was now time to refocus and pursue her speed skating dream.

The 2000-01 season on ice, her first in 10 years, was full of unprecedented achievements: Clara earned a spot on the National Team after only seven weeks of specific training, and then shocked the sporting world during the 2002 Olympic Games when, only 16 months after competing in her second Summer Olympics as a cyclist, she won a bronze medal in the grueling 5000m speed skating event. This, along with her two medals from the 1996 Summer Olympics in cycling, made Clara the only Canadian, and fourth ever athlete in history, to win medals in both Winter and Summer Games.

Clara became one of the top long-distance skaters in the world leading into the Olympic Winter Games in Torino, Italy in 2006. With World Cup victories, a World Championships title and a world record in the epic 10,000m event, Clara was a definite favourite for the 5000m race.

She did not disappoint, winning gold in a gripping race that saw her take the lead with only 200m to go. Along with her silver medal in the team pursuit in those same Games, Clara became the only athlete in history to win multiple medals in Winter and Summer Olympics.

Most recently, Clara was named flag-bearer for the 2010 Olympic Team and proudly led the Canadian athletes into B.C. Place to kick off her first ‘home Games’ and last Olympic Winter Games as a speed skater.

Clara went on to show, once again, that she is one of the best athletes when it comes to performing under pressure. At the age of 37, Clara thrilled the home crowd of 7000+ at the Richmond Olympic Oval to a bronze medal in her favourite and most grueling distance, the 5,000m.

In honour of her $10,000 personal donation to ‘Right to Play’ after winning gold in Torino four years earlier, *Clara made a donation to the local Vancouver charity ‘Take a Hike’ with her $10,000 bronze medal bonus*in 2010

Clara is an Officer of the Order of Canada, a member of the Order of Manitoba, has received an Honourary Doctorate of Law from the University of Manitoba, an Honourary Doctorate of Law from The University of British Columbia, an Honourary Doctorate of Letters from the University of New Brunswick, received the International Olympic Committee’s ‘Sport and Community’ award and is a two-time recipient of the ‘Spirit of Sport’ award from the Canadian Sports Awards. Most recently, she has received a star on Canada’s Walk of Fame.

For 20 years, Clara has followed her bliss through the world of sport. She has enjoyed a multitude of success, but considers her work outside of the realm of sport to shine far brighter than any and all of her athletic achievements.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

CLARA HUGHES

Intronisé en 2010

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 27 septembre 1972
Lieu d'origine: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Sport: Cyclisme sur route et Patinage de vitesse
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1996

Médaille de bronze à la course individuelle de route et à l’épreuve individuelle 

2002

Médaille de bronze à l’épreuve de patinage de vitesse de 3 000 mètres pour dames aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Salt Lake City, Utah

2006

Jeux Olympiques à Torin en Italie - Une médaille d’or à l’épreuve de 5000 mètres et à la poursuite en équipe

2010

A porté le drapeau canadien au nom de l’équipe olympique 2010

A remporté la médaille de bronze dans le patinage de vitesse féminin de 5 000 mètres aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver de Vancouver

Est nomée une Officier de l’Ordre du Canada

Honoured Member CLARA HUGHES
Inspire

Biographie

Les rêves olympiques de Clara Hughes ont vu le jour en 1988, quand elle regardait les Jeux olympiques d’hiver à la télé. À la vue des patineurs de vitesse qui glissaient sur la surface de glace, elle a eu l’idée qu’un jour elle aussi représenterait le Canada dans ce sport. À l’époque, elle n’avait aucune idée que, dans la poursuite de ce rêve olympique d’hiver, elle ferait un premier un grand détour à deux Jeux olympiques d’été, dans le sport de cyclisme.

Avec plus de 100 victoires à son compte, incluant deux médailles de bronze aux Jeux olympiques d’été 1996, des médailles aux Jeux panaméricains et aux Jeux du Commonwealth, ainsi que bon nombre de titres nationaux et mondiaux de cyclisme, Clara s’est établie comme l’une des meilleures cyclistes au monde. Puis elle a décidé d’entamer un nouveau défi, et elle a commencé à s’entraîner au patinage de vitesse.

La saison de patinage 2000-01, sa première dans une carrière de 10 ans, a vu une série de réussites sans précédent : Clara s’est creusé une place au sein de l’équipe nationale après seulement sept semaines d’entraînement spécifique au sport, puis elle a fait sensation aux cercles internationaux quand, aux Jeux olympiques de 2002, seulement 16 mois après avoir concouru aux Jeux d’été en cyclisme, elle a décroché une médaille de bronze dans l’épreuve difficile de patinage de vitesse de 5000m. Cet exploit, allant de pair avec ses deux médailles au cyclisme des Jeux olympiques d’été, a fait de Clara le seul athlète canadien, et le quatrième athlète au monde à gagner des médailles et aux Jeux olympiques d’été et aux Jeux d’hiver.

En 2006, la veille des Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Torino, Clara s’était établie comme l’une des meilleures patineuses de distance. Avec des victoires de Coupe du Monde et de Championnat du Monde et un record mondial dans l’épreuve épique des 10 000 mètres, Clara était la favorite à l’épreuve des 5000m.

Et elle n’a pas désappointé, remportant l’or dans une épreuve sidérante qui l’a vue prendre sa place en tête avec seulement 200m qui restaient. Avec sa médaille d’argent à la poursuite en équipe à ces mêmes Jeux, Clara est devenue le seul athlète au monde à gagner des médailles multiples aux Jeux d’été et aux Jeux d’hiver.

Plus récemment, Clara a été sélectionnée pour porter le drapeau canadien au nom de l’équipe olympique 2010, et elle a mené ses coéquipiers dans le stade B.C. Place pour inaugurer ses premiers «Jeux chez nous», et ses derniers Jeux d’hiver en tant que patineuse de vitesse.

Encore une fois, Clara s’est montrée l’une des meilleures athlètes au monde pour livrer des résultats sous une pression énorme. À l’âge de 37 ans, Clara a ravi les 7000+ spectateurs partisans à l’Anneau olympique de Richmond, mettant la main sur la médaille de bronze dans son épreuve préférée, et la plus exigeante, les 5000m.

En hommage à son don personnel de 10 000$ à «Right to Play» après sa médaille d’or à Torino quatre ans plus tôt, Clara a viré à l’organisme de bénévolat local «Take a Hike» à Vancouver sa prime de 10 000$ pour sa médaille de bronze de 2010.

Clara est un Officier de l’Ordre du Canada, un membre de l’Ordre du Manitoba, et elle a reçu un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université du Manitoba, un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Université de Colombie-Britannique, et un doctorat honorifique ès Lettres de l’Université de Nouveau-Brunswick. C’est une lauréate du prix «Sport et Communauté» du Comité international olympique et elle s’est vue décerner deux fois le prix «Esprit du sport» des Prix sportifs canadiens. Plus récemment, elle a eu une étoile dans l’Allée des Célébrités Canadiennes.

Ça fait 20 ans que Clara cherche et trouve ses rêves dans le sport. Elle y a eu un succès incomparable, mais elle considère son travail en dehors du monde sportif comme manière de briller encore plus fort que toutes ses réussites dans le sport.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7