EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

MARION LAY

Inducted in 2012

Member Details

Date of Birth: November 26, 1948
Place of Birth: Vancouver, British Columbia
Sport: Swimming
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1974

Organized Canada’s first ever conference for women and sport

Honoured Member MARION LAY
Inspire

Story

It started in the pool when Marion Lay was just 17 years old and competing in the 1964 Olympic Games in Tokyo.  She finished fifth in the 100 metre freestyle. She then went on to dominate the event for the next five years, reigning as Canadian champion and winning gold at the 1966 Commonwealth Games.

In Mexico, at the 1968 Olympic Games, she finished fourth in her marquee event, before teaming up to win the bronze medal as part of the 4x100 relay.

However, her achievements as an athlete were truly only the beginning.  After retiring from competitive swimming, Marion earned her Masters’ degree in sociology. She then taught and coached swimming at the University of Western Ontario, before working at Sport Canada in 1971. She became a swimming commentator, appearing on CBC broadcasts until 1973.

Marion organized Canada’s first ever conference for women and sport in 1974. She went on to help found WomenSport International, ProMOTION Plus, Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport and the Canadian Sport Centre-Vancouver. She has been tireless in her efforts to get girls and women involved in sport.

From 1985 to 1987, she headed operations for Rick Hansen’s Man in Motion World Tour, and became a member of the executive committee of the Canadian Olympic Committee.

Naturally, the chance to get involved in the bid for the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games was irresistible. Serving as the City of Vancouver representative, she helped win the bid before serving as President of 2010 Legacies Now.

Marion is considered to be one of Canada’s leading advocates and pioneers for women in sport and has contributed to many sporting achievements in Canada.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

MARION LAY

Intronisé en 2012

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 26 Novembre, 1948
Lieu d'origine: Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique
Sport: Natation
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1974

Marion a organisé la première conférence sur le sport et les femmes au Canada

Honoured Member MARION LAY
Inspire

Biographie

Tout a commencé dans une piscine à Tokyo : Marion Lay avait à peine 17 ans et elle participait aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 où elle a terminé cinquième au 100 m libre. Elle domina ensuite cette épreuve au cours des cinq années suivantes, régnant à titre de championne canadienne et remportant l’or aux Jeux du Commonwealth en 1966.
 
Aux Jeux olympiques de 1968 au Mexique, elle a terminé quatrième à son épreuve de prédilection avant de mériter la médaille de bronze avec l’équipe du relais 4x100 m.
 
Cependant, ses exploits en tant qu’athlète n’étaient que le début d’une carrière remarquable. Après sa retraite comme athlète, Marion a obtenu une maîtrise en sociologie. Elle a ensuite enseigné et a été entraîneure de natation à l’Université Western Ontario avant de travailler à Sport Canada en 1971. Elle a aussi agi comme analyste en natation avec la CBC jusqu’en 1973.
 
En 1974, Marion a organisé la première conférence sur le sport et les femmes au Canada. Elle a ensuite contribué à la création de WomenSport International, de ProMOTION Plus, de l’Association canadienne pour l’avancement des femmes, du sport et de l’activité physique (ACAFS), et du Centre canadien multisport – Vancouver. C’est sans compter les heures qu’elle a travaillé pour accroître la participation des filles et des femmes dans le sport.   
 
De 1985 à 1987, elle a dirigé les opérations pour le Man in Motion World Tour de Rick Hansen, et elle est devenue membre du comité exécutif du Comité olympique canadien.
 
Naturellement, l’occasion de s'impliquer dans la candidature de Vancouver pour les Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2010 était irrésistible. À titre de représentante de la ville de Vancouver, Marion a contribué à ce que cette candidature soit victorieuse, pour ensuite occuper le poste de présidente de LegaciesNow 2010.
 
Marion est considérée comme l’une des plus grandes défenseures et pionnières de la cause des femmes dans le sport au Canada et elle a contribué à plusieurs réalisations sportives au Canada.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7