EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

PIERRE LUEDERS

Inducted in 2012

Member Details

Date of Birth: September 26, 1970
Place of Birth: Edmonton, Alberta
Sport: Bobsleigh
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1998

Olympic gold medal with teammate Dave MacEachern in two-man bobsleigh event

2006

Olympic silver medal with teammate Lascelles Brown in two-man bobsleigh event

Honoured Member PIERRE LUEDERS
Inspire

Story

When he was a young boy growing up in Edmonton, Pierre Lueders set his sights on sport. It turns out the sport just wasn’t the right one. Always a powerhouse, he had been focusing on decathlon until his cousin, a sportswriter, suggested that Pierre had a physique perfectly suited to bobsleigh.

Five Olympic Games later, Pierre is the most decorated slider in Canadian history. It turns out sportswriters know a thing or two.

During his 19-year tenure with the Canadian Bobsleigh Team, he struck World Cup gold in all three bob categories – the two-man, four-man and combined. In all, he captured 85 medals at World Cup events.

Pierre was 27 years old in 1998 and had been leading the World Cup circuit for four years when he piloted the Canada 1 sled with Dave MacEachern aboard. Together they scorched the course to win gold, Canada’s second Olympic medal ever in the sport. The victory, however, was not that clear-cut. Their winning time was exactly the same as Italy’s – a million-to-one chance that resulted in the Italians winning gold as well.

After disappointing results at Salt Lake City in 2002, Pierre turned down the offer to carry the Canadian flag at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Turin. He wanted to focus on his event, and with Lascelles Brown acting as his brakeman, was rewarded with a silver medal.

Pierre’s record at the World Championships is perhaps even more impressive. Between 1995 and 2007, he captured two gold, four silver and two bronze medals steering both the two-man and four-man bobs. It is easy to see why Bobsleigh Canada says he is “arguably the best athlete to ever drive the Canada 1 sled.”

As a special honour, Pierre was given the go-ahead to drive the first sled down the course at the Whistler Sliding Centre, along with Justin Cripps. Today, Turn Seven on the track is called “Lueders Loop.”

After retirement following the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, Pierre was named head coach of the Russian bobsleigh and skeleton team as they prepare to host the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games. With his experience and expert guidance, the cheer in 2014 may well be “Here come the Russians!”


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

PIERRE LUEDERS

Intronisé en 2012

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 26 Septembre , 1970
Lieu d'origine: Edmonton , Alberta
Sport: Bobsleigh
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1998

Les Jeux Olympiques - La médaille d’or au bob à deux

2006

Les Jeux Olympiques - La médaille d’argent au bob à deux

Honoured Member PIERRE LUEDERS
Inspire

Biographie

Dès sa jeune enfance à Edmonton, Pierre Lueders a placé le sport dans sa mire. Sauf que le sport qu’il visait n’était pas le bon. Doté d’un physique puissant, il se concentrait sur le décathlon jusqu’à ce que son cousin, un journaliste sportif, lui fasse comprendre que son physique était tout indiqué pour le bobsleigh.

Cinq Jeux olympiques plus tard, Pierre est maintenant l’athlète des sports de glisse le plus médaillé du Canada. Il semblerait donc que les journalistes sportifs ont quelques connaissances en sport.

Pendant ses 19 ans à titre de membre de l’équipe canadienne de bobsleigh, il a arraché l’or en Coupe du monde dans les trois disciplines du bobsleigh – le bob à deux, le bob à quatre et le combiné. Il a remporté un total de 85 médailles à des épreuves de la Coupe du monde.  

En 1998, lorsqu’il a piloté le bob Canada 1 avec Dave MacEachern à bord, Pierre avait 27 ans et il menait le circuit de la Coupe du monde depuis quatre ans. Ensemble, Pierre et Dave ont pulvérisé le parcours pour remporter la médaille d’or, seulement la deuxième médaille olympique canadienne en bobsleigh. Cependant, la victoire ne fut pas aussi nette qu’ils ne l’auraient souhaité. Leur chrono vainqueur marquait le même temps que celui de l’Italie – une chance sur un million – et les Italiens remportèrent également l’or.

Après avoir obtenu des résultats décevants à Salt Lake City en 2002, Pierre a refusé la proposition qui lui avait été faite de porter le drapeau canadien aux Jeux olympiques de 2006 à Turin. Il voulait se concentrer sur son épreuve et, avec Lascelles Brown comme freineur, il a mérité la médaille d’argent.

La fiche de Pierre aux Championnats du monde est sans doute encore plus impressionnante. Entre 1995 et 2007, il a remporté deux médailles d’or, quatre d’argent et deux de bronze en pilotant des équipages de bob à deux et à quatre. Il est facile de comprendre pourquoi Bobsleigh Canada soutient qu’il est « le meilleur athlète à avoir piloté le bob Canada 1 ».

En guise d’honneur, Pierre a été choisi pour piloter le premier bob devant dévaler le parcours du Centre de glisse de Whistler. Il était accompagné de Justin Cripps. Aujourd’hui, le septième virage du parcours s’appelle la « boucle Lueders ».

Ayant pris sa retraite du bobsleigh après les Jeux olympiques de 2010 à Vancouver, Pierre a été nommé entraîneur-chef de l’équipe russe de bobsleigh et de skeleton, qui se prépare à être hôte des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014 à Sotchi. Avec son expérience et ses conseils d’expert, tout porte à croire qu'en 2014 nous entendrons crier « Les Russes arrivent! »


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7