EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

JEAN-LUC BRASSARD

Inducted in 2010

Member Details

Date of Birth: August 24, 1972
Place of Birth: Valleyfield, Quebec
Sport: Freestyle Skiing
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1994

Won gold medal in freestyle skiing men’s moguls at Olympic Winter Games in Lillehammer, Norway

1995

Won silver medal in freestyle skiing men’s moguls at Freestyle World Ski Championships in La Clusaz, France

1997

Won gold medal in freestyle skiing men’s moguls at Freestyle World Ski Championships in Lizuna Kogen, Japan

Honoured Member JEAN-LUC BRASSARD
Inspire

Story

A gold medalist in freestyle skiing moguls at the 1994 Olympic Winter Games, Jean-Luc Brassard was no stranger to victory, having won the right to be named World and Canadian Champion at the event in 1993. Growing up in Valleyfield, Que., Jean-Luc began skiing at the age of eight. He was named to the national team at the age of 17, and won his first World Cup race a year later.

Jean-Luc won the Canadian title again in 1995 and the World Cup in 1996 and 1997. He was leader of the elite freestyle skiing team known as the “Quebec Air Force” during the 1990’s.

After 1999, his career began to slow down while he battled a knee injury in 2000 that forced him to miss the 2000-2001 season. He had previously competed at the 1992 Olympic Winter Games, and later tried for a second medal in the sport in 1998 (the year that he carried the Canadian flag in the opening ceremonies). His final Olympic appearance was in 2002, but he did not find his way back to the Olympic podium.

Well known for his charity work, particularly with the french division of the Children’s Miracle Network, Jean-Luc was given the 2000 Gillette Sport Award for his dedication to charitable endeavours. Since his retirement, he has worked with the National Speakers Bureau.

 


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

JEAN-LUC BRASSARD

Intronisé en 2010

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 24 août 1972
Lieu d'origine: Valleyfield, Québec
Sport: Ski acrobatique
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1994

Médaille d’or en ski acrobatique bosses/hommes aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Lillehammer, en Norvège

1995

Médaille d’argent en ski acrobatique bosses/hommes aux Championnats du monde de ski acrobatique à La Clusaz, en France

1997

Médaille d’or en ski acrobatique bosses/hommes  Championnats du monde de ski acrobatique à Lizuna Kogen, au Japon

Honoured Member JEAN-LUC BRASSARD
Inspire

Biographie

Médaillé d’or en bosses aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1994, Jean-Luc Brassard avait déjà goûté à la victoire, ayant remporté les titres de champion canadien et de champion du monde dans cette discipline en 1993. Élevé à Valleyfield, au Québec, Jean-Luc a commencé à skier quand il avait seulement huit ans; il a été sélectionné sur l’équipe nationale à l’âge de 17 ans et il a récolté sa première victoire en Coupe du monde un an plus tard.

Il a gagné le titre canadien à nouveau en 1995 et la Coupe du monde en 1996 et 1997. Durant les années 1990, il a été le leader de l’équipe de ski acrobatique connue sous le nom de «Québec Air Force».

Après 1999, sa carrière a perdu un peu de son allure, d’autant plus qu’une blessure au genou en 2000 l’a obligé de faire l’impasse sur la saison 2000-2001. Ayant concouru aux Jeux olympiques de 1992, il visait une deuxième médaille dans sa discipline en 1998, année où il fut porte-drapeau pour l’équipe canadienne lors des cérémonies d’ouverture, et de nouveau en 2002, mais il n’est plus monté sur le podium olympique.

Bien connu pour ses activités de bienfaisance, particulièrement avec le Réseau Enfants-Santé, il a été lauréat du Gillette Sport Award en 2000 pour son travail caritatif. Depuis sa retraite du sport, il travaille avec le National Speakers Bureau.

 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7