EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

SARAH BURKE

Inducted in 2014

Member Details

Date of Birth: September 3, 1982
Place of Birth: Barrie, Ontario
Date of Passing: January 19, 2012
Sport: Freestyle Skiing
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

2005

Won the FIS Freestyle World Ski Champion - Half-pipe 

Honoured Member SARAH BURKE
Inspire

Story

Sarah Burke was a rising star in the world of Freestyle Skiing. In competition, she was the FIS Freestyle World Ski Champion - Half-pipe in 2005, a four-time gold medallist at the Winter X Games, a gold medallist at the Nippon Open Slopestyle in 2007 and the 2007 gold medallist at the WSI, Whistler Pipe. Sarah was the first woman to land a 720, 900 & 1080 degree rotation in competition.

Sarah was a leader in her sport, not only on the slopes, but also through her passion and determination. Sarah started in her sport when there were no women competitors and she could only compete with men. With her strength, personality and belief that all girls should have an equal chance, she attracted and often trained a generation of female competitors. Sarah’s passion and perseverance has been recognized as having been instrumental in the recent inclusion of her sport at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games.  She died in January 2012 at the age of 29 after succumbing to injuries suffered while training.

Sarah lived her life with a pure commitment to everything she did and with everyone she touched. She was a truly extraordinary individual mentoring young skiers and was often the last to leave an event as she always had time for her many fans. Sarah was, and will remain, a great role model for youth across Canada and above all, will be remembered for her warmth, her smile and her love of life.

 


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

SARAH BURKE

Intronisé en 2014

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 3 septembre 1982
Lieu d'origine: Barrie, Ontario
Date du décès: Le 12 janvier 2012
Sport: Ski acrobatique
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

2005

A remporté le titre de championne du monde FIS de ski acrobatique – demi-lune 

Honoured Member SARAH BURKE
Inspire

Biographie

Sarah Burke était une étoile montante dans le monde du ski acrobatique. En compétition, elle a remporté le titre de championne du monde FIS de ski acrobatique – demi-lune en 2005, quatre médailles d’or aux X Games, une médaille d’or au Nippon Open en slopestyle en 2007 et une médaille d’or au WSI, Whistler Pipe, en 2007. Elle a été la première femme à réussir, en compétition, des sauts comportant 720, 900 et 1080 degrés de rotation.

Sarah Burke était une leader dans son sport, non seulement sur les pentes, mais aussi par sa passion et sa détermination. Elle a commencé sa carrière alors qu’il n’y avait pas de compétitrices féminines et où elle devait se mesurer aux hommes. Par sa force, sa personnalité et sa conviction que les femmes devraient bénéficier des mêmes occasions, elle a attiré et souvent entraîné une génération entière de compétitrices féminines. Sa passion et sa persévérance ont été reconnues comme ayant joué un rôle important dans l’ajout de son sport aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2014. Elle est décédée au mois de janvier 2012, à l’âge de 29 ans, à la suite de blessures subies à l’entraînement.

Tout au long de sa vie, Sarah Burke était engagée totalement envers tout ce qu’elle faisait et envers tous ceux qu’elle a touchés. Elle était une personne vraiment extraordinaire, agissant comme mentore auprès de jeunes skieurs et elle était souvent la dernière à quitter les lieux d’une compétition, ayant toujours du temps pour ses nombreux admirateurs. Elle a été et restera toujours un modèle pour les jeunes partout au Canada et par-dessus tout, on se souviendra d’elle pour sa chaleur humaine, son sourire et son amour de la vie.  

 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7