EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

TIM FRICK

Inducted in 2014

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1952
Sport: Wheelchair Basketball
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1990 - 2009

Head Coach of the Canadian Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Team

1992, 1996, 2000

Coached Team Canada to three Olympic gold medals

Honoured Member TIM FRICK
Inspire

Story

Tim Frick has made an extraordinary contribution to Canadian sport through his exemplary coaching and development of other coaches.  As a Faculty Member of Douglas College’s Sport Science & Coaching Program (1986-2009) Tim imparted his extensive knowledge to the next generation of coaches and instructors.   As Head Coach of the Canadian Women’s Wheelchair Basketball Team from 1990 to 2009, Tim developed Team Canada into one of the most dominant teams in the history of all Canadian amateur sports. He led Team Canada to an incredible decade-long undefeated streak in major international competition, including an unprecedented three consecutive Paralympic gold medals (1992, 1996, 2000), four consecutive Wheelchair Basketball World Championship titles (1994, 1998, 2002, 2006), and bronze medals at the Wheelchair Basketball World Championship (1990) and Paralympics (2004).

Tim has been the recipient of a number of coaching awards including the Coaching Association of Canada’s Coaching Excellence Award eight times and the Coaching Association of Canada’s Geoff Gowan Lifetime Achievement Award.  In 2010, the Canadian Paralympic Committee named its coaching excellence award the Tim Frick Paralympic Coach Excellence Award in his honour.

Early in his career, Tim coached Rick Hansen during his Man in Motion World Tour. Rick said “Inside each of us there's the potential to do great things. And if we're lucky, we meet people who see possibilities which we don't see ourselves. Tim Frick was my friend, my coach, and my Difference Maker. Tim challenged me to be the best I could be, to find excellence through hard work and purpose. Tim helped me become the "Man in Motion".”

Tim has a natural ability to bring out the very best in people. He inspires, motivates and encourages through his coaching style and believes in preparation of the athlete, not beating the opponent. Tim prepared his athletes’ minds and bodies, including in all-round development; balancing sport, life and education, while developing confidence, self-discipline, and respect for self and others. Throughout his career, Tim has been a champion for the development of opportunities for sport and physical activity for persons with disabilities.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

TIM FRICK

Intronisé en 2014

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 1952
Sport: Basketball en fauteuil roulant
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1990 - 2009

Entraîneur-chef de l’équipe féminine canadienne de basketball en fauteuil roulant

1992, 1996, 2000

A mené le Canada à remporter trois médailles d’or paralympiques

Honoured Member TIM FRICK
Inspire

Biographie

Tim Frick a contribué de façon exceptionnelle au sport canadien par son travail exemplaire comme entraîneur et de développement d’entraîneur. À titre de membre de la faculté du programme de Sport Science & Coaching au Collège Douglas (1986-2009), il a transmis ses vastes connaissances à la prochaine génération d’entraîneurs et d’instructeurs. À titre d’entraîneur-chef de l’équipe féminine canadienne de basketball en fauteuil roulant de 1990 à 2009, il a fait d’Équipe Canada l’une des équipes les plus dominantes de l’histoire du sport amateur canadien. Il a mené le Canada à une incroyable série ininterrompue et sans précédent de victoires, s’échelonnant sur dix ans et comprenant trois médailles d’or paralympiques consécutives (1992, 1996, 2000), quatre titres consécutifs aux Championnats du monde de basketball en fauteuil roulant (1994, 1998, 2002, 2006) et des médailles de bronze aux Championnats du monde de 1990 et aux Jeux paralympiques de 2004.

Il a été le récipiendaire de nombreux prix remis aux entraîneurs, y compris le Prix d’excellence aux entraîneurs de l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs à huit reprises et le prix Geoff Gowan en reconnaissance de toute une vie au développement de l’entraînement de l’Association canadienne des entraîneurs.

Tôt en carrière, il a agi comme entraîneur auprès de Rick Hansen durant sa Tournée mondiale Rick Hansen. Ce dernier a dit : « À l’intérieur de chacun de nous existe le potentiel de faire de grandes choses. Et si nous sommes chanceux, nous faisons la connaissance de personnes qui voient en nous les possibilités que l’on ne voit pas nous-mêmes. Tim Frick était mon ami, mon entraîneur et celui qui m’a amené à un autre niveau. Il m’a mis au défi d’être le meilleur que je pouvais être, d’atteindre l’excellence par le travail et en me fixant des objectifs à atteindre. Tim Frick m’a aidé à être le Man in Motion. »

Tim Frick possède une capacité innée de faire ressortir ce qu’il y a de meilleur chez les individus. Sa manière d’entraîner inspire, motive et encourage et il croit en la préparation de l’athlète et non à chercher à vaincre l’adversaire. Il prépare les esprits et les corps de ses athlètes dans une optique de développement complet, maintenant un équilibre entre le sport, la vie et l’éducation, tout en développant la confiance, la discipline personnelle et le respect de soi et des autres. Tout au long de sa carrière, il s’est fait le promoteur du développement d’occasions en sport et en activité physique pour les personnes avec un handicap. 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7