EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Geraldine Heaney

Inducted in 2014

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1967
Sport: Ice Hockey
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1998

Olympic Games - Silver Medal

2002

Olympic Games - Gold Medal

Honoured Member Geraldine Heaney
Inspire

Story

In 1980, at the age of 13, Geraldine Heaney started playing hockey with the Toronto Aeros. This began a long and successful career playing in a then male-dominated game, and ultimately developing women’s hockey into the forefront of Canadian sport culture. Her gold medal-winning goal at the 1990 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship thrust her into the public eye as she was quickly positioned as a leader in the world of Women’s Ice Hockey.

Geraldine played for Canada's National Women's team from 1990 through the 2002 Olympic Winter Games. She competed in 125 games for Canada, amassing 93 points on 27 goals and 66 assists and was the first Canadian to play 100 games with Canada's National Women's Team. Geraldine won seven gold medals at the IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championships (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001), won a silver medal at the 1998 Olympic Winter Games in Nagano, Japan, and a gold medal at the 2002 Olympic Winter Games in Salt Lake City. A decade after her retirement, Geraldine remains the highest scoring defenceman in the history of Canada's National Women's Team.

Geraldine was a champion for female hockey long before the sport enjoyed international status and public attention. Geraldine takes her responsibility as a role model for young girls very seriously and continues to advance the women’s game. Geraldine was always a team player, putting herself second to the team’s goals and the development of the sport overall.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Geraldine Heaney

Intronisé en 2014

Détails membres

Date de naissance:
Sport: Hockey sur glace
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1998

Jeux olympiques - La médaille d’argent aux 

2002

Jeux olympiques -La médaille d’or

Honoured Member Geraldine Heaney
Inspire

Biographie

En 1980, à l’âge de 13 ans, Geraldine Heaney a commencé à jouer au hockey avec les Aeros de Toronto. C’était le début d’une longue et glorieuse carrière dans un sport dominé alors par les hommes et dans le développement du hockey féminin à titre de composante importante de la culture sportive canadienne. Son but gagnant lors de la finale au Championnat du monde féminin IIHF de hockey sur glace en 1990 l’a propulsée à l’avant-scène et elle a rapidement été vue comme une des leaders du hockey féminin.

Geraldine Heaney a fait partie de l’équipe nationale du Canada de 1990 jusqu’aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2002. Elle a pris part à 125 matchs pour le Canada, amassant 27 buts et 66 aides, pour un total de 93 points, et elle a été la première Canadienne à franchir le cap des 100 parties avec l’équipe nationale du Canada. Elle a remporté sept médailles d’or aux Championnats du monde féminins IIHF de hockey sur glace (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001), la seule à avoir réalisé cet exploit; elle a gagné une médaille d’argent aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 1998 à Nagano, au Japon, et une médaille d’or aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2002 à Salt Lake City. Dix ans après sa retraite, elle demeure, parmi les joueuses de défense, la meilleure marqueuse de l’équipe nationale du Canada.

Geraldine Heaney a ardemment fait la promotion du hockey féminin bien avant que ce sport jouisse d’un statut international et attire l’attention du public. Elle accepte avec sérieux la responsabilité d’être un modèle pour les jeunes filles et continue de promouvoir son sport. Elle a toujours été une joueuse d’équipe, faisant passer les objectifs de l’équipe et ceux du développement du hockey féminin avant les siens.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7