EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

ELIZABETH MANLEY

Inducted in 2014

Member Details

Date of Birth: August 7, 1965
Place of Birth: Trenton, Ontario
Sport: Figure skating
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1988

World Figure Skating Silver Medallist

Olympic Winter Figure Skating Freestyle Champion

Olympic Winter Figure Skating Silver Medallist

Named the Order of Canada

Two-time U.S. Open Figure Skating Champion and three-time Canadian Figure Skating Champion

Honoured Member ELIZABETH MANLEY
Inspire

Story

Elizabeth Manley is a world class figure skater with an exemplary list of accomplishments in her career. Her 50 national and international achievements include being a two-time U.S. Open Figure Skating Champion, three-time Canadian Figure Skating Champion, the 1988 World Figure Skating Silver Medallist, the 1988 Olympic Winter Figure Skating Freestyle Champion, and ultimately the 1988 Olympic Winter Figure Skating Silver Medallist.  Elizabeth is credited as being the first Canadian female to successfully land a triple-double combination jump in competition. She also received the Order of Canada in 1988.

With all of Elizabeth’s athletic success, Canadians were not aware that she battled severe depression. Instead of hiding her personal challenge, Elizabeth made her depression public in hopes that it could help others. “I don’t want people to feel sorry for me. Depression was the best thing that could have happened to me. It taught me who I was. I was 17 and I thought there was nothing good in life for me. Four and a half years later, I was standing on the podium and having my greatest moment. When you think your life is no good, you can change it.”

On top of being a spokesperson for a number of Charities, Elizabeth even created her own benefit event, Elizabeth Manley & Friends, which helps raise funds for teen mental health.  With all of Elizabeth's figure skating accomplishments, her inspiring inner strength in dealing with mental illness, and her tireless efforts in support of mental health, Elizabeth won a gold medal in life and is a role model for all of Canada to be proud of.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

ELIZABETH MANLEY

Intronisé en 2014

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 7 août 1965
Lieu d'origine: Trenton, Ontario
Sport: Patinage artistique
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1988

Médaille d’argent aux Championnats du monde de patinage artistique

Gagnante du programme libre aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver

 Médaille d’argent aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver 

Nommée de l’Ordre du Canada

Deux titres aux Championnats U.S. Open de patinage artistique et championne canadienne à trois reprises

Honoured Member ELIZABETH MANLEY
Inspire

Biographie

Elizabeth Manley est une patineuse artistique de classe mondiale possédant une liste impressionnante de réalisations au cours de sa carrière. Parmi ses 50 résultats nationaux et internationaux, nous retrouvons : deux titres aux Championnats U.S. Open de patinage artistique, championne canadienne à trois reprises, médaillée d’argent aux Championnats du monde de patinage artistique, gagnante du programme libre aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 1988 et finalement, médaillée d’argent aux Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 1988. Elle a été la première femme canadienne à réussir la combinaison triple saut-double saut en compétition. Elle a également été récipiendaire de l’Ordre du Canada en 1988.

Malgré tous les succès sportifs d’Elizabeth Manley, les Canadiens ignoraient qu’elle combattait une profonde dépression psychologique. Plutôt que de cacher ses problèmes personnels, elle a rendu publique sa dépression avec l’espoir que cela pourrait en aider d’autres. « Je ne veux pas que les gens me prennent en pitié. Cette dépression est la meilleure chose qui me soit arrivée. Elle m’a appris qui j’étais. J’avais 17 ans et je pensais que la vie ne m’apportait rien de bon. Quatre années et demie plus tard, j’étais debout sur le podium et c’était le plus beau moment de ma vie. Lorsque vous croyez que votre vie ne vaut rien, il est possible de la changer. »

En plus d’être porte-parole pour un certain nombre d’organismes de charité, Elizabeth Manley a créé son propre événement-bénéfice, Elizabeth Manley & Friends, qui recueille des fonds pour la santé mentale des adolescents.  Avec tous ses exploits en patinage artistique, sa force intérieure exemplaire face à la maladie mentale et ses efforts infatigables pour soutenir la santé mentale, elle a mérité une médaille d’or dans la vie et est un modèle admiré par tous les Canadiens. 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7