EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

WILLIAM CECIL CHRISTMAS

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1879
Date of Passing: 1941
Sport: Multisport
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1897

Intermediate Provincial Champions with the Britannia Football Club, Fullback

1898

Intermediate Provincial and Interprovincial Champions with the Britannia Football Club, Halfback

Interprovincial Champions with the Montreal Lacrosse Club (M.A.A.A.), Multi-position 

1899

Intermediate Champions with the Montreal Hockey Club (M.A.A.A.), Forward

Interprovincial Champions with the Montreal Lacrosse Club (M.A.A.A.), Centre

Won the lightweight title at an M.A.A.A. boxing competition.

1900

Intermediate Champions with the Montreal Hockey Club (M.A.A.A.), Forward

Honoured Member WILLIAM CECIL CHRISTMAS
Inspire

Story

Very few athletes ever achieve elite levels in four different sports.  William Cecil “Billy” Christmas was one of the few who did. At the turn of the century, this young teenager, the third of eight boys in his family, demonstrated the telltale signs of incredible athletic talent that included rugby, hockey, lacrosse, and boxing.  

In his teens, Billy joined the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association (M.A.A.A.) which supported his efforts. Billy played for the Montreal Hockey Club and the Montreal Lacrosse Club. On the off season, he played for the Britannia (Rugby) Club where he was considered the “the Prince of Halfbacks”.  In 1899 he entered an M.A.A.A. boxing competition, winning the lightweight title.

Billy had to overcome a number of tragedies later in his life including the death of his daughter, financial loss, and the loss of his beloved wife. The project that was closest to Billy’s heart was his belief in accessible healthcare for the poor and he worked diligently to recruit similar thinkers within the health care system and in the general public before his death at age 61.  


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

WILLIAM CECIL CHRISTMAS

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 1879
Date du décès: 1941
Sport: Multisports
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1897

Le Championnat de province intermédiaire avec le Britannia (Rugby) Club

1898

Le Championnat de province intermédiaire et le Championnat inter-provincial avec le Britannia (Rugby) Club

Le Championnat inter-provinical avec le Club de crosse de Montréal

1899

Le Championnat intermédiaire avec le Club de hockey de Montréal

Le Championnat inter-provinical avec le Club de crosse de Montréal

​Le titre des légers au tournoi de boxe de la

1900

Intermediate Champions with the Montreal Hockey Club (M.A.A.A.), Forward

Honoured Member WILLIAM CECIL CHRISTMAS
Inspire

Biographie

Très peu d’athlètes ont atteint un niveau élite dans quatre sports différents. William Cecil « Billy » Christmas a été l’un d’entre eux. Au tournant du siècle, ce jeune adolescent, troisième de huit garçons de sa famille, a démontré des indices révélateurs d’incroyables talents athlétiques, notamment en rugby, hockey, crosse et boxe.

Durant son adolescence, Billy s’est joint à l’Association des athlètes amateurs de Montréal (MAAA) qui a soutenu ses efforts. Billy a joué pour le Club de hockey de Montréal et le Club de crosse de Montréal. Durant la saison morte, il s’est aligné pour le Britannia (Rugby) Club où il était considéré « le prince des demis ». En 1899, il a participé à un tournoi de boxe de la MAAA, remportant le titre des légers.

Plus tard dans sa vie, Billy a dû surmonter nombre de tragédies, y compris la mort de sa fille, des pertes financières et le décès de son épouse adorée. Billy avait un projet à cœur : offrir des soins de santé accessibles aux démunis. Il a travaillé avec acharnement pour recruter des penseurs semblables au sein du système de santé et dans le grand public avant sa mort à l’âge de 61 ans. 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7