EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

ALEX DECOTEAU

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1887
Place of Birth: Battleford, Saskatchewan
Date of Passing: 1917
Sport: Athletics
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1909

Alex set a new Western Canadian record at the Mayberry Cup, completing the five-mile in 27 minutes and 45.2 seconds.

Honoured Member ALEX DECOTEAU
Inspire

Story

Alex Wuttunee Decoteau was Canada’s first full-blooded aboriginal police officer in a municipal force and an outstanding athlete with an incredible record of achievement, made even more astonishing when considering his very short life.

Alex was born on the Red Pheasant Reserve south of Battleford in present day Saskatchewan. He excelled at boxing, cricket, soccer, and running.  He came second in his first competitive event, the one-mile at Fort Saskatchewan in 1909. That was followed months later by a five-mile winning race with a time of 28 minutes and 41 seconds. That same year Alex set a new Western Canadian record at the Mayberry Cup, completing the five-mile in 27 minutes and 45.2 seconds. Alex could win at various distances including the half-mile, 1 mile, 2 mile, 5 mile, and 6 1/3 miles and it became typical for Alex to run and win in several distance competitions in the same day.  A number of trophies were permanently awarded to Alex because he was winning them so often that officials decided they were better off dispensing with the formalities of having him compete for them.

Alex ran in two notable events in Europe during WWI including winning a five-mile race in Salisbury, England.  King George V, who was presiding over the event, awarded Alex his own gold pocket watch which he treasured. The very next day, Alex ran to the site of what he believed was a foot race, but discovered it was a bicycle sprint instead.  True to his amazing talents, he borrowed a bike and won the race. Alex made the ultimate sacrifice for his country in the Battle of Passchendaele when he was killed by a sniper’s bullet, just shy of his 30th birthday.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

ALEX DECOTEAU

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 1887
Lieu d'origine: Battleford, Saskatchewan
Date du décès: 1917
Sport: Athlétisme
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1909

Alex a établi un nouveau record de l’Ouest canadien à la Mayberry Cup, enlevant le cinq milles en 27 minutes et 45,2 secondes. 

Honoured Member ALEX DECOTEAU
Inspire

Biographie

Alex Wuttunee Decoteau a été le premier policier municipal aborigène de sang pur au Canada et un athlète exceptionnel affichant un superbe palmarès, tout à fait époustouflant si l’on tient compte de sa très courte vie.

Alex est né sur la réserve de Red Pheasant au sud de Battleford dans la Saskatchewan actuelle. Il a excellé en boxe, cricket, soccer et course à pied. Il a terminé deuxième à sa première compétition, le mille de Fort Saskatchewan en 1909. Quelques mois plus tard, il a remporté une course de cinq milles en 28 minutes et 41 secondes. La même année, Alex a établi un nouveau record de l’Ouest canadien à la Mayberry Cup, enlevant le cinq milles en 27 minutes et 45,2 secondes. Alex pouvait gagner sur diverses distances, notamment le demi-mille, le mille, le 2 miles, le 5 milles et le 6 milles 1/3. Alex remportait souvent de nombreuses compétitions le même jour. De nombreux trophées ont été remis en permanence à Alex, car il les gagnait si souvent que les responsables ont décidé qu’il valait mieux lui éviter la formalité de courir pour gagner la course.

Alex a participé à deux événements marquants en Europe durant la Première Guerre mondiale, enlevant notamment une course de cinq milles à Salisbury en Angleterre. Le roi George V, président de l’événement, a remis à Alex sa propre montre de poche en or qu’il affectionnait particulièrement. Le jour suivant, Alex s’en rendu au site de ce qu’il croyait être une course à pieds, mais a plutôt découvert qu’il s’agissait plutôt d’un sprint à vélo. Grâce à ses talents exceptionnels, il a emprunté un vélo et gagné la course. Alex a fait l’ultime sacrifice pour son pays durant la bataille de Passchendaele où il a été tué par un tireur d’élite tout juste avant son 30e anniversaire.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7