EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

FRANK CALDER

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1877
Date of Passing: 1943
Sport: Ice Hockey
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1917-1943

Served as the first president of the National Hockey League

Calder Memorial Trophy - a trophy to award to the league's top rookie, created in his honour

Honoured Member FRANK CALDER
Inspire

Story

 

Frank Sellick Calder was an athlete, executive, and journalist. Frank served as the first president of the National Hockey League (NHL) from 1917 until his death in 1943. He was the last president of the NHL's predecessor league, the National Hockey Association (NHA) and was instrumental in the transition from the NHA to the NHL.  Frank also led the expansion of the NHL from Canada into the United States.

Frank was a strong advocate against racial discrimination in the NHL. During the 1927–1928 season, when he became aware of the Boston Black Panthers, the first all-Black hockey team, he made it clear that hockey would not discriminate against black players; a comment he directed to the segregation in baseball at the time.

Starting with the 1932–1933 season, Calder selected the top rookie in the NHL and in 1936 he convinced the NHL's Board of Governors to let him purchase a trophy to award to the league's top rookie.  Upon Frank’s death this honour was made permanent as the Calder Memorial Trophy.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

FRANK CALDER

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 1877
Date du décès: 1943
Sport: Hockey sur glace
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1917-1943

A été le premier président de la Ligue nationale de hockey

 Le trophée Calder est remis à la meilleure recrue de la LNH en sa mémoire.

Honoured Member FRANK CALDER
Inspire

Biographie

Frank Sellick Calder a été athlète, gestionnaire et journaliste. Il a été le premier président de la Ligue nationale de hockey (LNH) de 1917 jusqu’à sa mort en 1943. Il a été le dernier président de la ligue qui a précédé la LNH, l’Association nationale de hockey (ANH) et a joué un rôle important dans la transition de l’ANH à la LNH. Frank a aussi géré l’expansion de la LNH du Canada aux États-Unis.

Il s’est aussi fortement élevé contre la discrimination raciale dans la LNH. Durant la saison 1927–1928, lorsqu’il a été mis au courant des Black Panthers de Boston, première équipe entièrement constituée de Noirs, il a clairement mentionné, en réponse à la ségrégation des Noirs au baseball, que le hockey n’exercerait aucune discrimination à l’égard des Noirs.

Dès la saison 1932–1933, Calder sélectionnait la meilleure recrue de la LNH. En 1936, il a convaincu le conseil d’administration de la LNH de le laisser acheter un trophée pour récompenser la meilleure recrue de la ligue. Depuis la mort de Frank, le trophée Calder est remis à la meilleure recrue de la LNH en sa mémoire.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7