EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Alexandrine Gibb

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1891
Date of Passing: 1958
Sport: Multisport
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1928

Elected manager of the Canadian Women's National Team

1934

Appointed to the Ontario Athletic Commission as the first “Duchess” to be named in Canada.

Honoured Member Alexandrine Gibb
Inspire

Story

Alexandrine Gibb was a pioneer in women’s sports advocating for women’s sports organizations across Canada. Alexandrine was a sports journalist for the Toronto Daily Star where she worked for more than 30 years including writing a daily column entitled “No Man’s Land of Sport”.   Alexandrine began to advocate for women’s sports in the early 1920’s, working to ensure that women would have the same opportunities and equal access to sports facilities that men already had at that time. 

Alexandrine was involved in many different sport organizations, establishing many of them such as the Ladies’ Ontario Basketball Association in 1919 where she was elected President in 1925. Alexandrine was also a member of the Toronto Ladies’ Athletic Club and in 1920 she was elected President. Alexandrine coined the phrase “girls’ sport run by girls” and put that belief into practice. In 1922 Alexandrine was elected Vice President of the Canadian Amateur Basketball Association in 1922, as the only female on the executive council.

Alexandrine and her associates were determined to create a national women’s sport organization with branches in all provinces. The Canadian Ladies’ Athletic Club was established as a result and she was the first President of this Club.  In 1925, the Women’s Amateur Athletic Union of Canada was created and Alexandrine was chosen to draft its constitution. Alexandrine was also a driving force behind the creation of the Women’s Amateur Athletic Foundation of Canada in 1926 and in 1928 she was elected President for two years. Alexandrine’s tireless efforts to advocate for women’s sports eventually led her to be elected manager of the Canadian Women’s Olympic team in 1928 and she made history when she was appointed to the Ontario Athletic Commission in 1934 as she was the first “Duchess” to be named in Canada.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Alexandrine Gibb

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 1891
Date du décès: 1958
Sport: Multisports
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1928

Élu chef de l’équipe olympique féminine canadienne

1934

A marqué l’histoire en étant nommée à l’Ontario Athletic Commission comme première « duchesse » au Canada.

Honoured Member Alexandrine Gibb
Inspire

Biographie

Alexandrine Gibb s’est affirmée comme pionnière du sport féminin en œuvrant pour la création d’organisations de sport féminin à la grandeur du Canada. Alexandrine a été journaliste sportive pour le Toronto Daily Star durant plus de 30 ans, rédigeant notamment une chronique quotidienne intitulée « No Man’s Land of Sport ». Alexandrine a commencé à plaider la cause du sport féminin au début des années 1920, veillant à s’assurer que les femmes comptent sur les mêmes occasions et accès aux installations sportives que les hommes avaient déjà à ce moment.

Alexandrine a œuvré au sein de nombreuses organisations sportives, fondant nombre d’entre elles comme l’Association de basketball féminin de l’Ontario en 1919, dont elle a été élue présidente en 1925. Alexandrine a aussi été membre du Club athlétique féminin de Toronto et elle en a été élue présidente en 1920. Alexandrine a adopté et concrétisé la devise « du sport par et pour les femmes ». En 1922, Alexandrine a été élue vice-présidente de l’Association canadienne de basketball amateur, seule femme à siéger au conseil exécutif.

Alexandrine et ses associés étaient déterminés à créer une organisation sportive féminine nationale avec des divisions dans toutes les provinces. Le Club athlétique féminin du Canada a été fondé et elle en a été nommée première présidente. L’Union athlétique de sports amateurs féminins du Canada a été fondée en 1925 et Alexandrine a été choisie pour en rédiger la constitution. Alexandrine a de plus largement contribué à la création de la Fondation athlétique des sports amateurs féminins du Canada en 1926 et elle a été élue présidente pour deux ans en 1928. Les efforts acharnés d’Alexandrine à défendre les intérêts des sports féminins l’ont finalement menée au poste de chef de l’équipe olympique féminine canadienne en 1928. Elle a marqué l’histoire en étant nommée à l’Ontario Athletic Commission en 1934 comme première « duchesse » au Canada.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7