EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

FREDERICK JAMES HEATHER

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1890
Date of Passing: 1976
Sport: Cricket
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1927-1967

He umpired in more than 1000 consecutive matches without a miss

1931

A founding member and the first Secretary-Treasurer for the Toronto and District Cricket Umpire's Association

1935

The first Secretary of the newly formed Umpire's Control Board

Honoured Member FREDERICK JAMES HEATHER
Inspire

Story

Immigrating to Canada in 1921, Frederick Heather won two Toronto City Championships in 1922 and 1927.  With the Bell Telephone Cricket Club, Heather also won two Ontario Championships in 1926 and 1928 and competed for the national title.  Upon retiring as a player, Heather moved behind the wicket to focus on umpiring.

Frederick’s long standing career as an umpire and builder of the sport made an enormous contribution to cricket in Canada. Frederick began umpiring in 1927 and was Canada’s longest serving umpire when he retired from his long 40 year career which included numerous national and international assignments including the 1932 Australian Good Will Tour and the First Class status match between Canada and England in 1951. He umpired in more than 1000 consecutive matches without a miss. 

In addition to umpiring, Frederick was both Secretary and player for the St. Georges Cricket Club in 1922 and the Yorkshire Cricket Club in 1925. He was a founding member and the first Secretary-Treasurer for the Toronto and District Cricket Umpire's Association in 1931 and in 1935 became the first Secretary of the newly formed Umpire's Control Board. Frederick was passionate about cricket's future and established the Cricket Umpire's School.  He developed the curriculum to ensure a high standard of officials for future Canadian cricket matches. He was also instrumental in starting a junior cricket league in Toronto, resulting in the formation of 18 junior cricket clubs in 1931 and authored numerous newspaper and magazine articles, increasing awareness and support for Canadian cricket.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

FREDERICK JAMES HEATHER

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 1890
Date du décès: 1976
Sport: Cricket
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1927-1967

A arbitré plus de 1 000 parties consécutives

1931

A été membre fondateur et premier secrétaire-trésorier du Toronto and District Cricket Umpire’s Association

 

 

 

1935

Le premier secrétaire du nouvel organisme Umpire’s Control Board

Honoured Member FREDERICK JAMES HEATHER
Inspire

Biographie

Immigrant au Canada en 1921, Frederick Heather a remporté deux Championnats de la ville de Toronto en 1922 et 1927. Heather a aussi remporté deux Championnats de l’Ontario avec le Bell Telephone Cricket Club, en 1926 et 1928, et il a participé au championnat national. À sa retraite comme joueur, Heather est passé derrière le guichet pour jouer le rôle d’arbitre.

La longue carrière de Frederick comme arbitre et bâtisseur du sport a apporté une énorme contribution au cricket au Canada. Frederick a commencé sa carrière d’arbitre en 1927 et il a été l’arbitre canadien ayant connu la plus longue carrière lorsqu’il a pris sa retraite après 40 ans. Il a officié à de nombreux événements nationaux et internationaux, notamment l’Australian Good Will Tour de 1932 et le match de première classe entre le Canada et l’Angleterre en 1951. Il a arbitré plus de 1 000 parties consécutives.

En plus d’être arbitre, Frederick a été secrétaire et joueur du St. Georges Cricket Club en 1922 et du Yorkshire Cricket Club en 1925. Il a été membre fondateur et premier secrétaire-trésorier du Toronto and District Cricket Umpire’s Association en 1931 et est devenu en 1935 le premier secrétaire du nouvel organisme Umpire’s Control Board. Frederick était passionné par l’avenir du cricket et il a fondé le Cricket Umpire’s School. Il a préparé le programme afin de garantir un calibre d’arbitrage de haut niveau pour les futures parties de cricket du Canada. Il a aussi joué un rôle important pour mettre sur pied une ligue de cricket junior à Toronto, se traduisant par la formation de 18 clubs juniors de cricket en 1931. Il a aussi rédigé de nombreux articles dans les journaux et magazines afin de sensibiliser les Canadiens au cricket.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7