EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Susan Auch

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: March 1, 1966
Place of Birth: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Sport: Speed Skating
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

2003

Inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame and Museum

1999

Inducted into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame and Museum

1998

Won a Silver medal in the 500m Long Track Speed Skating event at the Nagano Olympic Winter Games

1995

Won World Cup Gold Medals in three 500m events in Long Track Speed Skating

Awarded the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award 

1994

Won a Silver Medal in the 500m Long Track Speed Skating event at the Lillehammer Olympic Winter Games

1988

Won a Bronze Medal in the 3000m Short Track Speed Skating Relay at the Calgary Olympic Winter Games

Honoured Member Susan Auch
Inspire

Story

Susan Auch’s amazing 27 year sport journey began with a simple, but critical goal to build the strength she needed to overcome the effects of the asthma that plagued her. She moved beyond the health benefits of sport participation into her competitive career as a short-track speed skater and after a few years moved to the long-track.

Susan Auch excelled at the 1983 Canada Games, capturing two Gold Medals and one Silver in Speed Skating. Her achievements also include being First Overall at the Canadian Sprint Championships in 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994 and 1995. During the 1995 season Susan also won 3 World Cup Gold Medals in the 500m and was awarded the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award as Canada’s Female Athlete of the Year. Susan held a Canadian speed record for the 500m in 1995 and is one of only 3 women, and the first Canadian, to ever beat the 39 second barrier in pre-clap skates over a 500m distance.

Susan represented Canada five times in the Olympics including 1988, 1992, 1994, 1998, and 2002.  Her Olympic success included a Bronze medal in the short track women’s relay team at the 1988 Calgary Olympic Winter Games, a Silver at the 1994 Lillehammer Olympic Winter Games in the 500m, and she prevailed over a serious knee injury to win Silver at the 1998 Nagano Olympic Winter Games in the 500m.

Outside of her dominance in the speed skating world, Susan has dedicated her time and energy to help others as a spokesperson to promote awareness of allergies and asthma.  Susan has also given back through her involvement with the Olympic Youth Academy, Athletes CAN working to ensure a fair, responsive, and supportive system for athletes,  and as a Director of the Speed Skating Canada Board.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Susan Auch

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: March 1, 1966
Lieu d'origine: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Sport: Patinage de vitesse
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

2003

Intronisée au Temple de la renommée et musée des sports du Manitoba

1999

Intronisée au Temple de la renommée et musée des sports de l’Alberta 

1998

Remporte une médaille d’argent à l’épreuve du 500 m en patinage de vitesse longue piste aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Nagano

1995

Remporte trois médailles d’or lors d’épreuves de 500 m en patinage de vitesse longue piste en Coupe du monde

Lauréate du Prix Bobbie Rosenfeld 

1994

Remporte une médaille d’argent à l’épreuve du 500 m en patinage de vitesse longue piste aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Lillehammer

1988

Remporte une médaille de bronze à l’épreuve du relais 3000 m en patinage de vitesse courte piste aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Calgary

Honoured Member Susan Auch
Inspire

Biographie

L’exceptionnel parcours sportif de Susan Auch, s’étendant sur 27 années, s’est amorcé avec un objectif à la fois simple et critique d’acquérir la forme nécessaire pour combattre les effets de l’asthme. Les bienfaits du sport sur sa santé se sont transposés dans sa carrière compétitive comme patineuse de vitesse sur courte piste, puis, quelques années plus tard, sur longue piste.

Auch récolte deux médailles d’or et une d’argent en patinage de vitesse aux Jeux du Canada de 1983. Susan a notamment terminé première au classement des championnats de sprint canadiens en 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994 et 1995. Durant la saison 1995, Susan a aussi remporté trois médailles d’or sur 500 m à la Coupe du monde et obtenu le trophée Bobbie Rosenfeld en tant qu’athlète canadienne féminine de l’année. Susan a détenu le record canadien sur 500 m en 1995 et compte parmi les trois seules femmes, et la première Canadienne, à franchir la barrière des 39 secondes sur 500 m avant l’ère des patins claps.

Susan a représenté cinq fois le Canada aux Olympiques en 1988, 1992, 1994, 1998, et 2002. Notons comme succès olympiques une médaille de bronze au relais féminin sur courte piste aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Calgary en 1988, une médaille d’argent au 500 m aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Lillehammer en 1994 et une médaille d’argent, après une grave blessure au genou, au 500 m aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Nagano en 1998.

Outre sa domination dans l’univers du patinage de vitesse, Susan a consacré son temps et son énergie à aider les autres en tant que porte-parole pour sensibiliser la population aux allergies et à l’asthme. Susan a aussi redonné à la communauté par l’entremise de l’organisme Olympic Youth Academy, s’efforçant de garantir un système de soutien équitable et réactif pour les athlètes, et comme directrice du conseil d’administration de Patinage de vitesse Canada.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7