EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Paul Coffey

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: June 1, 1961
Place of Birth: Weston, Ontario
Sport: Ice Hockey
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

2005

Had his jersey number ( # 7 ) retired by the Edmonton Oilers

2004

Inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame 

1996

Won the Silver Medal as a member of Team Canada in the World Cup of Hockey

1984, 1987, 1991

Won the Gold Medal as a member of Team Canada in the Canada Cup Tournament

1985, 1986, 1995

Won the Norris Memorial Trophy for demonstrating the greatest all-round ability as a defenseman in the NHL

1984, 1985, 1987, 1991

Won four Stanley Cups, the first three with the Edmonton Oilers and the latter with the Pittsburgh Penguins

Honoured Member Paul Coffey
Inspire

Story

Paul Coffey is considered one of the best NHL defenseman of all time and was often thought of as the fourth forward on the ice.  Drafted to the Edmonton Oilers in 1980, Paul’s unique skills helped them win the franchise’s first Stanley Cup in 1984 and again in 1985 and 1987. Paul added a 4th Stanley Cup win to his career with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991. Paul was awarded the Norris Memorial Trophy in 1985, 1986 and 1995 as the greatest all-round defenseman in the NHL. Paul played for a total of 9 NHL teams and ended his 21 year career with 396 goals and 1,135 assists in regular season games and 59 goals and 137 assists, in 194 playoff contests. Paul was selected for the NHL All Star Team a remarkable 14 times during his career.  Paul’s international success includes representing his country at the Canada Cup, winning the Gold medal three times (1984, 1987 & 1991) and earning a Silver medal at the World Cup of Hockey in 1996.

Paul still holds many of the NHL records he set including the most goals by a defenseman in one season (48) and during the playoffs (49); the most assists in one season by a defenseman including playoffs (109); most points in one season by a defenseman including playoffs (158); most points in one game by a defenseman (8); most assists by a defenseman in one game (8); longest point-scoring streak by a defenseman (28 games); most goals (12), most  assists (25) and most points (27) in one playoff year; and the fastest defensemen in NHL history to reach 1000, 1100, 1200, 1300, 1400 and 1500 points.

Paul’s passion for teamwork and enjoyment working with others has led him to success on and off the ice. His hockey experience is now shared with the next generation as he serves as Assistant Coach to his son’s AAA team in addition to his duties as Head Coach of the OJHL’s Pickering Panthers. Paul continues to lend his time to numerous charitable hockey events and has also been a spokesperson for Prostate Cancer. Paul has also hosted the Celebrity Hockey Classic Series on a number of occasions to support children with physical disabilities.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Paul Coffey

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: June 1, 1961
Lieu d'origine: Weston, Ontario
Sport: Hockey sur glace
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

2005

Les Oilers d’Edmonton retirent son chandail (no 7)

2004

Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du hockey

1996

Remporte une médaille d’argent comme membre d’Équipe Canada à la Coupe du monde de hockey

1984, 1987, 1991

Remporte la médaille d’or comme membre d’Équipe Canada lors du tournoi Coupe Canada

1985, 1986, 1995

Remporte le trophée commémoratif Norris à titre de meilleur défenseur de la NLH faisant preuve de polyvalence

1984, 1985, 1987, 1991

Remporte quatre Coupes Stanley, les trois premières avec les Oilers d’Edmonton et la dernière avec les Penguins de Pittsburgh

Honoured Member Paul Coffey
Inspire

Biographie

Paul Coffey est considéré un des meilleurs défenseurs de tous les temps il a souvent été considéré comme le quatrième attaquant sur la glace. Repêché par les Oilers d’Edmonton en 1980, Paul, grâce à ses aptitudes uniques, a contribué à la première Coupe Stanley de la franchise en 1984 et a répété l’exploit en 1985 et 1987. Paul a ajouté une quatrième Coupe Stanley à son palmarès avec les Penguins de Pittsburgh en 1991. Paul a remporté le trophée Norris remis au meilleur défenseur de la LNH en 1985, 1986 et 1995. Paul s’est aligné pour neuf équipes de la LNH et il a conclu sa carrière de 21 années avec 396 buts et 1 135 aides en saison régulière, puis 59 buts et 137 aides en séries éliminatoires. Accomplissement remarquable, Paul a été sélectionné 14 fois au sein de l’équipe d’étoiles de la LNH. À l’échelle internationale, Paul a représenté son pays à la Coupe Canada, remportant trois fois l’or (1984, 1987 et 1991) et gagnant la médaille d’argent à la Coupe du monde de hockey en 1996.

Paul détient toujours de nombreux records de la LNH, notamment le plus de buts par un défenseur en une saison (48) et en séries (49), le plus d’aides en une saison par un défenseur, y compris les séries (109), le plus de points en une saison par un défenseur, y compris les séries (158), le plus de points en une partie par un défenseur (8), le plus d’aides en une partie pour un défenseur (8), la plus longue séquence de parties avec un point par un défenseur (28), le plus de buts (12), le plus d’aides (25) et le plus de points (27) durant les séries d’une seule saison et le défenseur de la LNH ayant atteint le plus rapidement les plateaux de 1 000, 1 100, 1 200, 1 300, 1 400 et 1 500 points.

La passion de Paul pour l’esprit d’équipe et son plaisir à travailler avec les autres ont contribué à ses succès sur la patinoire et dans sa vie personnelle. Il partage son expérience en hockey avec la prochaine génération en occupant le poste d’entraîneur adjoint de l’équipe AAA de son fils en plus d’être entraîneur en chef des Panthers de Pickering de l’OJHL. Paul consacre toujours du temps à divers événements de bienfaisance centrés sur le hockey et a aussi été porte-parole pour le cancer de la prostate. Il a aussi organisé des classiques des célébrités du hockey à de multiples occasions pour aider les enfants ayant un handicap physique.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7