EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Nicolas Gill

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: April 24, 1972
Place of Birth: Montreal, Quebec
Sport: Judo
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

2009

Became Judo Canada High Performance Director and National Head Coach

2004

Canada’s Flag Bearer at the Opening Ceremonies of the Athens Olympic Games

1995, 1999, 2003

Competed in the Pan American Games and won Gold Medals in the 86kg Class in 1995 and the 100kg in 1999 and won the Silver Medal in the 100kg Class in 2003

1993, 1995, 1999

Competed at the World Judo Championships and won the Silver Medal in the 86kg Class in 1993, the Bronze Medal in the 86kg Class in 1995 and the Bronze Medal in the 100kg Class in 1999

1992, 1996, 2000, 2004

Competed for Canada in Judo in four consecutive Olympic Games in Barcelona, Atlanta, Sydney and Athens respectively

2000

Won the Silver Medal in the 100kg Class in Judo at the Sydney Olympic Games

1992

Won the Bronze Medal in the 86kg Class in Judo in the Barcelona Olympic Games 

Honoured Member Nicolas Gill
Inspire

Story

Nicolas Gill is a national hero and legend in the sport of judo. At only 14 years old, Nicolas won the first of his 3 Canadian youth titles and eventually became one of Canada's most decorated judo athletes.  His renowned throws include a lighting fast uchimata and a nearly unstoppable osotogari.

Gill’s first taste of national competition came during the 1987 Canada Games in Cape Breton.  It was through this experience that Gill could test his mettle against the country’s best to develop his strategy and rise to the top. Gill captured the Gold medal in the 54kg category and continued on to take the Judo world by storm. Nicolas has competed at 4 consecutive Olympic Games (1992, 1996, 2000, 2004), winning the 86 kilogram Bronze medal at the 1992 Barcelona Olympic Games and the 100 kilogram Silver medal at the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games. Nicolas’ additional international success includes a Silver medal at the World Championships in 1993 as well as a Bronze medal in 1995 and in 1999; Pan American Games Gold in 1995 and again in 1999; a Commonwealth Games Gold medal in 2002. His impressive career also includes 10 national titles. 

Since Nicolas’ retirement in 2004, he has continued  to develop high level judo athletes in Canada. He was the head coach of Judo Canada’s world championship team in 2005 and then became the National Head Coach in 2009. His coaching successes include coaching the Bronze medallist from the 2012 London Olympic Games.

Nicolas promotes his sport through the establishment of La foundation Nicolas Gill to provide young athletes with the financial assistance they need to participate in judo tournaments and as a result, inspires the next generation of young judo hopefuls.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Nicolas Gill

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: April 24, 1972
Lieu d'origine: Montreal, Quebec
Sport: Judo
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

2009

Devient directeur de haute performance et entraîneur-chef national à Judo Canada

2004

Porte-drapeau du Canada aux cérémonies d’ouverture des Jeux olympiques à Athènes

1995, 1999, 2003

Participe aux Jeux panaméricains et remporte des médailles d’or dans la catégorie des 86 kg en 1995 et dans la catégorie des 100 kg en 1999 et une médaille d’argent dans la catégorie des 1

1993, 1995, 1999

Participe aux Championnats du monde de judo et remporte la médaille d’argent dans la catégorie des 86 kg en 1993, la médaille de bronze dans la catégorie des 86 kg en 1995 et la médaille de bronze dans

1992, 1996, 2000, 2004

Représente le Canada en judo lors de quatre Jeux olympiques consécutifs, soit Barcelone, Atlanta, Sydney et Athènes

2000

Remporte la médaille d’argent en judo dans la catégorie des 100 kg aux Jeux olympiques à Sydney 

1992

Remporte la médaille de bronze en judo dans la catégorie des 86 kg aux Jeux olympiques à Barcelone 

Honoured Member Nicolas Gill
Inspire

Biographie

Nicolas Gill est un héros national et une légende en judo. À seulement 14 ans, Nicolas a remporté le premier de ses trois titres canadiens chez les juniors et il est éventuellement devenu un des judokas canadiens les plus décorés. Ses projections réputées comprennent un uchi-mata ultra rapide et un o-soto-gari à peu près imparable.

Gill goûte à sa première compétition sur la scène nationale aux Jeux du Canada en 1987 au Cap-Breton, où il remporte l’or dans la catégorie des 54 kg. En lui permettant de se mesurer aux meilleurs jeunes judokas au pays, les Jeux lui auront servi de tremplin vers la scène internationale. Nicolas a participé à quatre Jeux olympiques consécutifs (1992, 1996, 2000, 2004), remportant la médaille de bronze des 86 kilogrammes aux Jeux olympiques de Barcelone en 1992 et la médaille d’argent des 100 kilogrammes aux Jeux olympiques de Sydney en 2000. Notons entre autres succès internationaux de Nicolas, une médaille d’argent aux championnats du monde de 1993 ainsi que des médailles de bronze en 1995 et en 1999, la médaille d’or des Jeux panaméricains de 1995 et, en 1999, une médaille d’or aux Jeux du Commonwealth en 2002. Sa carrière impressionnante comprend aussi 10 titres nationaux.

Nicolas continue de perfectionner les judokas de haut niveau au Canada depuis sa retraite en 2004. Il était entraîneur en chef de l’équipe de Judo Canada aux championnats du monde de 2005 et a été nommé entraîneur-chef de l’équipe nationale en 2009. À ce titre, il a entraîné avec succès le médaillé de bronze des Jeux olympiques de 2012 à Londres.

Nicolas promeut son sport par le biais de La Fondation Nicolas Gill afin d’offrir aux jeunes athlètes l’aide financière nécessaire pour participer à des compétitions de judo. Il inspire ainsi la prochaine génération d’espoirs en judo. 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7