EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Craig Forrest

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: September 20, 1967
Place of Birth: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Sport: Soccer
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

2012

Voted to Canadian Soccer’s All Time XI soccer team by the fans

2007

Inducted into the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame

Inducted into the Canadian Soccer Hall of Fame

2000

Playing for Canada, won the Most Valuable Player and the Most Valuable Goalkeeper in Canada’s win of the CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football) Gold Cup Championship

1994, 2000

Awarded Canadian Player of the Year by Soccer Canada

1991-1992

Recorded 16 shutouts and led Ipswich Town to a first place finish in the English Second Division and promotion to the newly formed Premier League 

Honoured Member Craig Forrest
Inspire

Story

When Craig Forrest started playing soccer at the age of 12 he did not know that it would eventually lead him to the rare opportunity to rise up the ranks of the English Premier League (EPL), the world’s biggest soccer league, to become the greatest goalkeeper in our country’s history. In 1984, at 16 years old, Craig travelled to England and signed a two-year apprenticeship with Ipswich and began training. He made his first professional appearance in the 1987-88 season and would remain with Ipswich for 14 seasons and more than 300 appearances for the Portman Road club. In 1991-92, he amassed 16 shut-outs and led Ipswich to a first place finish in the English First Division and promotion to the new EPL. Craig was one of only 13 active foreign players in the EPL that season and the first Canadian to play in the Premiership. After a short time with the Premiership giant Chelsea Football Club, Forrest joined West Ham United from 1997 until 2002.

Craig was Canada’s first-choice goalkeeper from 1988 to 2002, playing for Canada’s senior national side.  He earned 56 caps, one for each time he represented Canada in an international match, the most ever for a Canadian goalkeeper.  In 1994 and 2000, Craig was awarded the Canadian Player of the Year by Soccer Canada and right up to the day of his retirement, still held the Canadian shutout record, posting 19 clean sheets.  In 2000, Craig was recipient of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football Gold Cup’s Most Valuable Player and Most Valuable Goalkeeper after supporting his team to the Gold Cup Championship, and one of the greatest moments in Canadian soccer history.

In 2001, Craig was diagnosed with cancer and, after beating the disease, was forced to retire in 2002.  Craig is recognized as one of Canada’s best soccer players of all time and now devotes his time to promote the game in Canada.  Craig is also a national soccer television analyst in addition to his broadcasting role in Euro Cup and World Cup coverage.  He served as the Honourary Chair of the FIFA U-20 World Cup Canada in 2007 and gives back to his global community, joining more than 80 international soccer stars from across the planet, through the Canadian FIFA Ambassador for SOS Children’s Villages working to support orphaned and abandoned children around the world. 


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Craig Forrest

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: September 20, 1967
Lieu d'origine: Coquitlam, British Columbia
Sport: Soccer
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

2012

Élu par les partisans au sein de l’équipe de soccer du Canada de tous les temps

2007

Intronisé au Temple de la renommée des sports de la Colombie-Britannique

Intronisé au Temple de la renommée de soccer du Canada

2000

Avec l’équipe canadienne, il remporte les titres de joueur le plus utile et gardien de but le plus utile lors de la victoire du Canada au championnat de la Gold Cup de la CONCACAF (Confédération de football d'Améri

1994, 2000

Nommé joueur canadien de l’année par Soccer Canada

1991-1992

Réalise 16 jeux blancs et mène Ipswich Town au premier rang de la deuxième division anglaise et à une promotion à la Premier League nouvellement créée

Honoured Member Craig Forrest
Inspire

Biographie

Lorsque Craig Forrest a commencé à jouer au soccer à 12 ans, il ne savait pas qu’il aurait l’occasion de joindre les rangs de la prestigieuse English Premier League (EPL), la plus importante au monde, pour devenir le plus grand gardien de l’histoire de notre pays. En 1984, à 16 ans, Craig s’est rendu en Angleterre et a signé un contrat d’apprentissage de deux ans avec Ipswich et a commencé son entraînement. Il a joué sa première partie professionnelle en 1987-88 et il s’est aligné avec Ipswich durant 14 saisons avec plus de 300 apparences pour le club du stade Portman Road. En 1991-92, il a cumulé 16 jeux blancs et a mené Ipswich à la première position de la première division anglaise. L’équipe a été promue dans la nouvelle EPL. Craig a été un des 13 joueurs étrangers actifs de l’EPL durant cette saison et le premier Canadien à jouer dans le championnat anglais. Au terme d’un bref séjour avec le géant Chelsea de l’EPL, Forrest a joué pour West Ham United de 1997 à 2002.

Craig a été le premier gardien de l’équipe senior canadienne de 1988 à 2002. Il a cumulé 56 sélections, une à chaque représentation du Canada au niveau international, le plus grand total pour un gardien canadien. En 1994 et 2000, Craig a obtenu le titre de joueur canadien de l’année de Soccer Canada et, jusqu’à sa retraite, il détenait le record de blanchissages avec 19. En 2000, Craig a été nommé joueur le plus utile et gardien le plus utile de la Gold Cup de la Confédération de football d’Amérique du Nord, d’Amérique centrale et des Caraïbes après avoir mené son équipe au championnat de la Gold Cup et à un des plus grands exploits de l’histoire du soccer canadien.

En 2001, Craig a reçu un diagnostic de cancer et, après avoir vaincu la maladie, il a été forcé de prendre sa retraite en 2002. Craig est reconnu comme un des meilleurs joueurs de soccer de tous les temps au Canada et il se consacre désormais à la promotion du jeu au pays. Craig est aussi analyste de soccer à la télévision nationale en plus de participer à la diffusion des parties de la Coupe d’Europe et de la Coupe du monde. Il a été nommé président honoraire de la Coupe du monde U-20 de la FIFA au Canada en 2007 et il redonne à la communauté, se joignant à plus de 80 étoiles du soccer international à la grandeur de la planète, comme ambassadeur canadien de FIFA pour SOS Villages d’enfants, organisme qui soutient les enfants abandonnés dans le monde. 


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7