EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

JOCELYNE BOURASSA

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: May 30, 1947
Place of Birth: Shawinigan-Sud, Quebec
Sport: Golf
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

2009

Won the LPGA Eloise Trainer Award for her contribution to women’s golf

1996

Inducted into the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame

1992

Inducted into the Quebec Sports Hall of Fame (Panthéon des sports du Québec)

1990

Created the du Maurier Ltd. Series to develop Canadian Women professional golfers, growing the number from 20 to 150 over ten years

1973

Became the first Canadian to win an LPGA event in Canada

1972

Named a Member of the Order of Canada

Won the LPGA Rookie of the Year Award and was awarded the Bobbie Rosenfeld Award as Canada’s Female Athlete of the Year 

Honoured Member JOCELYNE BOURASSA
Inspire

Story

Jocelyne Bourassa established herself as one of the top golf athletes and builders in Canada.  Jocelyne was a Université de Montréal graduate, who played on the men’s golf team since there was no women’s team, making a lasting impression that would drive her desire to support female golfers.  In her playing career she won three Québec Junior crowns in a row (1963, 1964 & 1965), four Québec Amateur championships (1963, 1969, 1970 & 1971) and was a member of Québec’s teams on eight occasions between 1962 and 1971. Jocelyne was also successful nationally, capturing two Canadian Open Championship crowns (1965 and 1971) and was runner-up in 1968. Internationally, she won the Scottish Girls title (Scotland, 1967) and the New Zealand amateur crown in 1971 and was a member of Canadian teams in the 1970 World Championships and 1971 Commonwealth Matches. In 1973 Jocelyne became the only Canadian to have ever won an LPGA event on home soil before being forced to end her playing career due to a knee injury in 1979. 

Jocelyne’s contributions and commitment to golf have gone well beyond her outstanding athletic career to have been one of golf’s exemplary builders. In a male dominated sport, Jocelyne championed the development of women’s golf and led a tradition of excellence. She has worked with Canadian golf associations and the Canadian PGA to initiate developmental programs for young female golf professionals. In 2013, her 40th  anniversary of winning the LPGA event called la Canadienne sponsored by Jean-Louis Lévesque, as part of a “Give to the Next Gernation” initiative, Jocelyne financially supported a young golf professional to help her integrate into the LPGA tour. When Jocelyne founded the duMaurier Series in 1980 what would become the Canadian Women’s Open in 1980 there were less than 20 professional women golfers. Today, thanks to her tireless efforts, there are over 150. Jocelyne served as the Executive Director of the duMaurier Classic Canadian Women’s Open for over 20 years.  She also served on the LPGA Board of Sponsors including a role as Vice President.

Jocelyne is a role model and mentor to women golfers across Canada and has served as a senior consultant with Golf Quebec that developed a program to brings golf to primary schools. The Royal Canadian Golf Association created the Jocelyne Bourassa Player of the the Year Award, in recognition of her tremendous contribution to the game of golf, that is given annually to the Canadian Women’s Tour player who is the top finisher on the Tour’s Order of Merit. Jocelyne became a Member of the Order of Canada in 1973. Highly respected, Jocelyne is affectionally considered Canada’s ambassador of golf.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

JOCELYNE BOURASSA

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: May 30, 1947
Lieu d'origine: Shawinigan-Sud, Québec
Sport: Golf
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

2009

Remporte le Prix Eloise Trainer de la LPGA reconnaissant sa contribution au golf féminin

1996

Intronisée au Temple de la renommée du golf du Canada

1992

Intronisée au Panthéon des sports du Québec 

1990

Crée la Série du Maurier afin de favoriser le développement des golfeuses professionnelles canadiennes, augmentant leur nombre de 20 à 150 sur une période de dix ans

1973

Devient la première Canadienne à remporter un tournoi de la LPGA au Canada

1972

Nommée membre de l’ordre du Canada

Remporte le Prix de la recrue de l’année de la LPGA et est lauréate du Prix Bobbie Rosenfeld à titre d’athlète féminine de l’année au Canada  

Honoured Member JOCELYNE BOURASSA
Inspire

Biographie

Jocelyne Bourassa s’est établie comme une des meilleures golfeuses et bâtisseuses au Canada. Jocelyne, diplômée de l’Université de Montréal, a joué avec l’équipe masculine de golf, car il n’y avait aucune équipe féminine, laissant une empreinte qui motive son désir de soutenir les golfeuses. Durant sa carrière, elle a remporté trois titres juniors du Québec consécutifs (1963, 1964 et 1965), quatre championnats amateurs du Québec (1963, 1969, 1970 et 1971) et a été membre des équipes du Québec huit fois entre 1962 et 1971. Jocelyne a aussi connu du succès au pays, remportant deux Omniums du Canada (1965 et 1971) et terminant deuxième en 1968. À l’échelle internationale, elle a remporté le tournoi féminin écossais (Écosse, 1967) et le titre des amateurs en Nouvelle-Zélande en 1971. Elle a aussi été membre de l’équipe canadienne des Championnats mondiaux de 1970 et des Jeux du Commonwealth en 1971. En 1973, Jocelyne est devenue la seule Canadienne à remporter un événement de la LPGA chez elle avant d’être forcée de mettre fin à sa carrière compétitive à cause d’une blessure à un genou en 1979.

Les contributions et l’engagement de Jocelyne envers le golf dépassent largement sa superbe carrière athlétique comme en témoigne son incroyable engagement comme bâtisseuse. Dans un sport dominé par les hommes, Jocelyne a soutenu le développement du golf féminin et a pavé la voie à une tradition d’excellence. Elle a collaboré avec les associations canadiennes de golf et la PGA du Canada pour mettre en place des programmes de développement des jeunes professionnelles du golf. En 2013, pour souligner le 40e anniversaire de sa victoire au tournoi La Canadienne de la LPGA commandité par Jean-Louis Lévesque, Jocelyne a apporté son soutien financier à une jeune professionnelle du golf pour l’aider à accéder au circuit de la LPGA dans le cadre de l’initiative « Donner au suivant ». Lorsque Jocelyne a fondé la série du Maurier en 1980, qui deviendra plus tard l’Omnium canadien féminin, on comptait moins de 20 golfeuses professionnelles. De nos jours, grâce à ses efforts acharnés, il y en a plus de 150. Jocelyne a été directrice générale de la classique du Maurier féminine du Canada pendant plus de 20 ans. Elle a aussi siégé au Conseil des commanditaires de la LPGA, notamment comme vice-présidente.

Jocelyne est un modèle et un mentor pour les golfeuses canadiennes et elle a occupé le poste de conseillère principale auprès de Golf Québec qui a préparé un programme pour présenter le golf dans les écoles primaires. L’Association royale de golf du Canada a créé le trophée Jocelyne Bourassa remis à la joueuse de l’année en reconnaissance de son engagement exceptionnel envers le golf. Le trophée est remis annuellement à la première joueuse au classement du circuit canadien. Jocelyne est devenue membre de l’Ordre du Canada en 1973. Grandement respectée, Jocelyne est considérée avec affection comme l’ambassadrice canadienne du golf.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7