EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Marina van der Merwe

Inducted in 2015

Member Details

Date of Birth: February 7, 1937
Place of Birth: Cape Town, South Africa
Sport: Field Hockey
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

2014

Inducted as part of the Inaugural Class of the Field Hockey Canada Hall of Fame

2004

Inducted into the York University Sport Hall of Fame

1994, 1999

CIS Field Hockey Coach of the Year, an award now named in her honour

1976-1995

Coach of Canada’s National Women’s Field Hockey Team, which competed in three Olympic Games, six World Cups and three Pan Am Games

1971-1999

Coached the York University Women’s Field and Indoor Hockey teams , winning six CIS ( Canadian Interuniversity Sport ) Silver medals and two Bronze Medals

Honoured Member Marina van der Merwe
Inspire

Story

Dr. Marina van der Merwe coached the York women's field and indoor hockey teams from 1971 to 1999. During that time, she coached the field hockey team to 6 CIAU Silver medals, 2 CIAU Bronze medals, 7 OUA titles, and also led the indoor hockey team to 7 OUA championships. She received numerous CIAU and OUA Coach of the Year awards and developed many athletes on her teams at York including 41 all-Canadians, 55 conference All-Stars, and 10 national team athletes.

Marina’s impressive coaching resume and her undeniable impact on athletes under her tutelage extends to the Canada Games, where she coached the Team Ontario Women’s field hockey team in the 1973 Canada Summer Games in New Westminster/Burnaby, B.C. Marina  coached the Canadian National Women’s Field Hockey Team for an incredible 19 years (1976-1995).  During her time as coach the team ranking rose from 16th to as high as 2nd at` FIH World Cups and she  coached the team at 3 Olympic Games (1984, 1988, 1992), 6 World Cups between 1983 and 1994, and 3 Pan Am Games (1987, 1991 & 1995).  Through Marina’s leadership during that time, the Canadian National Women’s Team was the highest ranked summer sport team in the country, male or female, and became one of Canada's most impressive team sport success stories as she developed the team into an international powerhouse.

Marina has always inspired her athletes through her love and passion for the game.  She has challenged her athletes more than any other coach would dare to make excellence a standard.  Marina believed in the value of fair play and that winning in sport should occur on the field, not in the boardroom. She is a respected coach and leader and was considered ahead of her time for her extensive knowledge of exercise, sport science, and game preparation. Marina gives everything she has to the development of coaches and athletes in Canada and has also shared her experience around the world.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Marina van der Merwe

Intronisé en 2015

Détails membres

Date de naissance: February 7, 1937
Lieu d'origine: Cape Town, South Africa
Sport: Hockey sur gazon
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

2014

Fait partie du premier groupe de personnes intronisées au Temple de la renommée de Hockey sur gazon Canada 

2004

Intronisée au Temple de la renommée des sports de l’Université York

1994, 1999

Entraîneure de l’année de hockey sur gazon de SIC; ce prix porte maintenant son nom en son honneur

1976-1995

Entraîneure de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada de hockey sur gazon, prenant part à trois Jeux olympiques, six Coupes du monde et trois Jeux panaméricains

1971-1999

Entraîneure de l’équipe féminine de hockey sur gazon (extérieur et intérieur) de l’Université York, remportant six médailles d’argent et deux médailles de bronze de SIC (Sport int

Honoured Member Marina van der Merwe
Inspire

Biographie

La docteure Marina van der Merwe a entraîné l’équipe de hockey sur gazon et de hockey en salle de York de 1971 à 1999. Durant cette période, elle a mené l’équipe de hockey sur gazon à six médailles d’argent du SIC, deux médailles de bronze du SIC, sept titres du SIC et a aussi mené l’équipe de hockey en salle à sept championnats des SUO. Elle a reçu de nombreux titres d’entraîneur de l’année du SIC et du SUO et a développé de nombreux athlètes de ses équipes à York, y compris 41 joueuses étoiles canadiennes, 55 joueuses étoiles de conférence et 10 athlètes d’équipe nationale.

L’impressionnant parcours de l’entraîneure Marina van der Merwe passe par les Jeux du Canada, où elle a dirigé l’équipe ontarienne de hockey sur gazon aux Jeux d’été du Canada 1973 à New Westminster/Burnaby (Colombie-Britannique). Marina a été entraîneuse de l’équipe nationale féminine de hockey sur gazon durant 19 ans (1976 à 1995). Durant cette période, l’équipe est passée du 16e au 2e rang à la Coupe du monde de la FIH et Marina a été trois fois entraîneuse aux Jeux olympiques (1984, 1988, 1992), six fois à la Coupe du monde entre 1983 et 1994 et à trois jeux panaméricains (1987, 1991 et 1995). Grâce au leadership de Marina, l’équipe nationale féminine canadienne a occupé le plus haut classement des sports d’équipe d’été au pays, masculin ou féminin, et est devenue une des réussites les plus impressionnantes des sports d’équipe canadiens en devenant une véritable puissance internationale.

Marina a toujours inspiré ses athlètes par le biais de son amour et de sa passion pour le sport. Elle a défié ses athlètes plus que tout autre entraîneur afin d’établir l’excellence comme norme. Marina croyait fermement à l’esprit sportif et qu’il fallait gagner sur le terrain et non dans les bureaux. Elle est une entraîneuse une leader respectée et a été considérée avant-gardiste en vertu de ses vastes connaissances en entraînement, sciences du sport et préparation pour le match. Marina consacre tous les efforts nécessaires au développement des entraîneurs et des athlètes au Canada et a aussi partagé son expérience partout dans le monde.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7