EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

DR. FRANK HAYDEN

Inducted in 2016

Member Details

Place of Birth: Windsor, Quebec
Sport: Special Olympics
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1964

Published a testing and training manual for people with an intellectual disability

1981

Started Special Olympics International's Office of International Development

1988

Established and directed the Office of European Affairs for Special Olympics International

1997

Become an Honorary and Permanent member of the Office of Olympic Association

2000

Made an officer of the Order of Canada

Honoured Member DR. FRANK HAYDEN
Inspire

Story

Dr. Frank Hayden, a creator of the worldwide Special Olympics Movement, has had a profound effect on individuals with an intellectual disability in Canada and around the world. As a faculty member at the University of Toronto in the early 1960’s, his study of children with intellectual disabilities revealed that they were half as physically fit as their non-disabled peers. It was assumed that their low fitness levels were directly connected to their disability. As a sports scientist, Frank conducted research into the effect of exercise on people with an intellectual disability, concluding that given the chance, they could indeed become physically fit, and gain the skills necessary to participate in sport. His research was ground-breaking, disproving the prevailing beliefs of his time.

Inspired by his discoveries, Frank began exploring how to develop a national sports program for people with an intellectual disability. In 1964, he presented his research at the first International Congress on the Psychology of Sport in Rome and also published a testing and training manual which had major circulation across Canada and the United States.  He was convinced that sport was the answer and designed and proposed a national program of sport training and competition in Canada. His work came to the attention of the Kennedy Foundation in Washington, D.C. and, in 1965, he moved to Washington to work alongside the late Eunice Kennedy Shriver, Founder of Special Olympics. In 1968, he was integral to the first Special Olympics Games held at Chicago’s Soldier Field. By the early 1970s - in just a few short years - Special Olympics had a presence in all 50 United States. The first Special Olympics Games in Canada were held in June, 1969 in Toronto with 1400 athletes from across the country.

In 1981, Frank started Special Olympics International's Office of International Development and served as its first Director until 1984, establishing national organizations and programs throughout the world. In 1988 he moved to Paris to establish and direct the Office of European Affairs for Special Olympics International. In 1997 Frank was made an Honorary and Permanent Member of the Canadian Olympic Association, in 2000 an Officer of the Order of Canada and in 2010 a Member of the Order of Ontario.

Frank’s involvement in the creation of Special Olympics has made an invaluable difference to the lives of those with intellectual disabilities in Canada and around the world.  Today, over 4.5 million athletes from more than 170 countries participate in Special Olympics. The growth of the Special Olympics Movement has had a broader societal impact – the realization that people with an intellectual disability have capabilities that extend beyond the field of play and into the workplace, schools and communities. For nearly 50 years, Special Olympics has used sport as the catalyst for creating a more inclusive world for all. Frank is known throughout the world for his contagious enthusiasm and for building a better world for youth through sport.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

DR. FRANK HAYDEN

Intronisé en 2016

Détails membres

Lieu d'origine: Windsor, Quebec
Sport: Olympiques spéciaux
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1964

A publié un manuel d’essai et d’entraînement pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle

1981

A créé Special Olympics International 

1988

A établi et diriger le Bureau des affaires européennes pour Special Olympics International

1997

Un membre honoraire et permanent de l’Association olympique canadienne

2000

Officier de l’Ordre du Canada

Honoured Member DR. FRANK HAYDEN
Inspire

Biographie

Le Dr Frank Hayden est le créateur du mouvement mondial des Olympiques spéciaux et a joué un rôle capital pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle au Canada et autour du globe. Membre de la faculté de l’Université de Toronto au début des années 1960, son étude des enfants ayant une déficience intellectuelle révèle que leur condition physique est deux fois moins bonne que celle de leurs pairs sans déficience. On suppose que leur faible niveau de condition physique est directement attribuable à leur déficience. En tant que scientifique du sport, le Dr Hayden effectue une recherche sur les effets de l’exercice sur les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle avec comme conclusion que si on leur donne la chance, ils peuvent effectivement devenir en forme, et acquérir les habiletés nécessaires pour pratiquer un sport. Sa recherche est sans précédent et démontre la fausseté des croyances qui règnent à l’époque.

Inspiré par ses découvertes, le Dr Hayden commence à explorer des moyens de mettre en place un programme de sport national pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. En 1964, il présente sa recherche au premier congrès international sur la psychologie du sport à Rome, et il publie un manuel d’essai et d’entraînement qui est largement diffusé au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il est convaincu que la réponse est dans le sport, et conçoit et propose un programme national d'entraînement sportif et de compétition au Canada. Son travail vient à l’attention de la Kennedy Foundation de Washington, D.C. et, en 1965, il se rend à Washington pour mettre son plan en œuvre aux États-Unis. En 1968, il met sur pied et dirige les premiers Jeux nationaux au Chicago’s Soldier Field, et les nomme les Olympiques spéciaux. En moins de deux ans, il établit des organisations et des Jeux olympiques spéciaux dans les 50 états. Les premiers Jeux olympiques spéciaux du Canada ont lieu en juin 1969, à Toronto, et réunissent 1400 athlètes de partout au pays.

En 1981, le Dr Hayden crée Special Olympics International avec un bureau à Washington, dont il est le premier directeur jusqu’à 1984, établissant des organisations nationales et des programmes aux quatre coins du monde. En 1988, il se retrouve à Paris pour établir et diriger le Bureau des affaires européennes pour Special Olympics International. Puis, en 1997, il devient membre honoraire et permanent de l’Association olympique canadienne, en 2000, Officier de l’Ordre du Canada, et en 2010, membre de l’ordre de l’Ontario.

Sa participation à la création des Olympiques spéciaux a fait une différence inestimable dans la vie des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde. Aujourd’hui, plus de 4,5 millions d'athlètes provenant de plus de 170 pays participent aux Olympiques spéciaux. La croissance du mouvement Olympiques spéciaux a aussi eu des effets sur la société en général : on a réalisé que les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle ont des capacités qui vont au-delà du terrain de jeu pour s’étendre au monde du travail. Le Dr Hayden est connu partout dans le monde pour son enthousiasme contagieux et pour bâtir un monde meilleur pour les jeunes par le sport.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7