EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

STEPHANIE DIXON

Inducted in 2016

Member Details

Date of Birth: February 10, 1984
Place of Birth: Brampton, Ontario
Sport: Para Swimming
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

2000

Won five Gold and two Silver Medals at the 2000 Sydney Paralympic Games

Broke world records in the 100-metre backstroke, and the 100 and 400-metre freestyle events

2004

Won one Gold, six Silver and one Bronze Medal at the Athens Paralympic Games

Set a world record in the 100-metre backstroke

2008

Won a Gold, two Silver and a Bronze medal at the 2008 Paralympic Games in Beijing

Honoured Member STEPHANIE DIXON
Inspire

Story

Stephanie Dixon, a three-time Paralympian and multiple world record holder from Brampton, Ontario, is considered to be one of the best swimmers in the world. She was born without her right hip and leg and began swimming lessons when she was two years old.  At 13, Stephanie began swimming competitively against athletes without disabilities at the local, provincial and national level. By 14, she had made Canada’s national team for swimmers with a disability.

At only 16, Stephanie won five Gold and two Silver medals at the 2000 Sydney Paralympic Games with world records in the 100-metre backstroke, and the 100 and 400-metre freestyle events. At the 2004 Athens Paralympic Games, she won one Gold, six Silver and one Bronze medal, setting a world record in the 100-metre backstroke. At the 2006 IPC Swimming World Championships in South Africa, she re-broke her 100-metre backstroke world record en route to winning Gold. In 2008, at the Paralympic Games in Beijing, Stephanie won one Gold, two Silver, and a Bronze medal, and once again set the new standard with a world record mark in the 100-metre backstroke.

When she retired in 2010, Stephanie had earned 19 Paralympic medals (7 Gold, 10 Silver and 2 Bronze) and 7 Parapan American medals (6 Gold & 1 Silver) and still remains the short course world record holder in the S9 100 and 200-metre backstroke events. She previously held 10 individual world records in the S9 classification, and was also a part of two world record-breaking relay teams.

Stephanie’s outstanding achievements extend beyond the pool through her commitment to her community. She has been a champion for the Paralympic movement in Canada, and a tireless promoter of parasport as a keynote speaker, blogger, broadcaster, and mentor. Stephanie served as an Ambassador for the Rio 2007 Parapan American Games, where she raised awareness around the need for equal sporting opportunities for all athletes. She was part of the broadcast team for the 2014 Sochi Paralympic Games, and was named Team Canada’s Assistant Chef de Mission for the Toronto 2015 Parapan Am Games. 

Stephanie credits her parents for encouraging her to try new things and not to worry about being different from others. Her parents enrolled her in many different sports, but she always felt most at home in the pool. Stephanie believes that sport is about challenging yourself to become the greatest athlete possible and to bring out the best in yourself. Stephanie continues her life’s passion as an advocate for Disability Rights with the Yukon Human Rights Commission.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

STEPHANIE DIXON

Intronisé en 2016

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 10 fevrier 1984
Lieu d'origine: Brampton, Ontario
Sport: Paranatation
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

2000

A remporté cinq médailles d’or et deux d’argent aux Jeux paralympiques de 2000 à Sydney

A établi des records mondiaux au 100 mètres dos, et aux 100 et 400 mètres style libre

2004

A remporté une médaille d’or, six d’argent et une de bronze aux Jeux paralympiques d’Athènes

A établi le record du monde au 100 mètres dos

2008

Aux Jeux paralympiques aux Beijing - une médaille d’or, deux d'argent et une de bronze

Honoured Member STEPHANIE DIXON
Inspire

Biographie

Stephanie Dixon, de Brampton, en Ontario, trois fois médaillée paralympique et détentrice de plusieurs records du monde, est considérée comme l’une des meilleures nageuses du monde. Elle naît sans hanche et sans jambe du côté droit, et commence ses leçons de natation à l’âge de deux ans. À 13 ans, Stephanie commence à compétitionner avec des athlètes sans handicap aux niveaux local, provincial et national. À 14 ans, elle fait partie de l’équipe nationale du Canada pour les nageurs ayant un handicap.

À seulement 16 ans, Stephanie remporte cinq médailles d’or et deux d’argent aux Jeux paralympiques de 2000 à Sydney en établissant des records mondiaux au 100 mètres dos, et aux 100 et 400 mètres style libre. Aux Jeux paralympiques d’Athènes de 2004, elle remporte une médaille d’or, six d’argent et une de bronze, fracassant le record du monde au 100 mètres dos. Aux Championnats du monde de natation du Comité international paralympique de 2006, en Afrique du Sud, elle bat son propre record du monde au 100 mètres dos, en route pour la médaille d’or. En 2008, aux Jeux paralympiques de Pékin, Stephanie reçoit une médaille d’or, deux d'argent et une de bronze, et élève de nouveau la barre avec un record du monde au 100 mètres dos.

Au moment de prendre sa retraite, en 2010, Stephanie avait accumulé 19 médailles paralympiques (7 d’or, 10 d'argent et 2 de bronze), et 7 médailles aux Jeux paralympiques panaméricains (6 d’or et une d’argent). Elle demeure la détentrice du record du monde en petit bassin aux épreuves S9 100 mètres et 200 mètres dos. Elle comptait auparavant 10 records du monde individuels dans la classification S9, et a aussi fait partie de deux équipes de relais qui ont battu le record du monde.

Les prouesses exceptionnelles de Stephanie s'étendent au-delà de la piscine par son engagement envers la communauté. Elle a été championne du mouvement paralympique du Canada, a fait sans relâche la promotion du parasport comme conférencière, blogueuse, communicatrice et mentor. Stephanie a occupé le rôle d’ambassadrice des Jeux panaméricains de 2007 de Rio. À ce titre, elle a fait connaître la nécessité d'accéder à l’égalité des chances pour tous les athlètes. Elle a fait partie de l’équipe de commentateurs des Jeux paralympiques de 2014 de Sochi, et a été nommée Assistante Chef de Mission d’Équipe Canada pour les Jeux panaméricains de 2015 de Toronto.

Stephanie remercie ses parents de l’avoir encouragée à essayer de nouvelles choses et à ne pas se préoccuper de sa différence. Ses parents l’ont inscrite à de nombreuses activités sportives, mais elle s’est toujours mieux sentie dans la piscine. Stephanie croit que le sport, c’est se donner le défi de devenir le meilleur athlète possible et de faire ressortir le meilleur de soi-même. Elle poursuit sa passion d’une vie à la défense des droits des personnes handicapées au sein de la Commission des droits de la personne du Yukon.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7