EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

Sue Holloway

Inducted in 2016

Member Details

Date of Birth: May 19, 1955
Place of Birth: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Sport: Canoe / Kayak Sprint
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

1976

Was the first woman in the world to compete at both the Winter and Summer Olympic Games

1984

Won Silver in the K2-500m and Bronze in the K4-500m at the Los Angeles Olympic Games

Honoured Member Sue Holloway
Inspire

Story

Four-time Olympian Sue Holloway was the first woman in the world to ever compete at both the Winter and Summer Olympic Games in the same year when she competed in cross country skiing and kayaking in 1976. Sue grew up in Ottawa, and represented Ontario at the Canada Winter Games in 1971 in skiing and joined both national teams for skiing and paddling in 1973. In 1975, Sue was the Canadian champion in skiing (5km classic) and kayaking (K1-500 and 6,000m, K2-500m, and K4-500m). The following year, she was selected to represent her nation at the 1976 Innsbruck Olympic Winter Games in the 10-km cross-country ski race and the 4 x 5km relay. She returned home to Canada and that summer raced at the 1976 Montreal Olympic Games in the K1-500m and K2-500m.

In 1979, Sue was the first woman to compete in the challenging all-male Molokai Hoe Race in Hawaii, finishing third. Sue focused on kayaking intending to make the 1980 Olympic team, but her hopes were crushed when Canada boycotted the Games. Not only could she not compete, but was unable to carry out the honour of being the nation’s flag bearer in the Opening Ceremonies. Refusing to give up, she continued to train and qualified for the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games, where she won Silver in the K2-500m and Bronze in the K4-500m.

Sue retired shortly after, ending a 14 year career as an athlete. She began coaching, motivational speaking and working with the Canadian Olympic Committee, where she developed a career planning programs for national team athletes. She has worked tirelessly to help youth, with the focus on inspiring kids to get physically active.

Sue is an event planner, world champion dragon boat competitor and devotes countless hours to coaching cross country skiing to teach and motivate the next generation of athletes.


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

Sue Holloway

Intronisé en 2016

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 19 mai 1955
Lieu d'origine: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Sport: Canoë-kayak de vitesse
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

1976

La première femme du monde à prendre part aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver et à ceux d’été

1984

Jeux Olympiques - l’argent en K2-500 m et le bronze ne K4-500 m

Honoured Member Sue Holloway
Inspire

Biographie

La quadruple olympienne Sue Holloway est la première femme du monde à prendre part aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver et à ceux d’été dans la même année en participant aux épreuves de ski de fond et de kayak, en 1976. Sue grandit à Ottawa et représente l’Ontario au Jeux d’hiver du Canada en 1971, en ski, puis se joint à deux équipes nationales, celle de ski et celle de pagaie en 1973. En 1975, Sue est championne canadienne de ski (5 km classique) et de kayak (K1-500 et 6000 m, K2-500 m et K4-500 m). L’année suivante, elle est sélectionnée pour représenter sa nation aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver d’Innsbruck de 1976 en ski de fond 10 km et au relais 4 x 5 km. Elle revient à la maison, au Canada, et cet été-là, participe aux courses de kayak K1-500 m et K2-500 m aux Jeux olympiques de Montréal de 1976.

En 1979, Sue est la première femme à prendre part à la course entièrement masculine Molokai Hoe Race à Hawaï, et termine troisième. Elle se concentre sur le kayak avec l’intention de prendre part aux Jeux olympiques de 1980, mais ses espoirs sont anéantis quand le Canada boycotte les Jeux. Non seulement elle ne peut participer, mais elle rate aussi l'occasion et l’honneur d’être la porteuse du drapeau de la nation aux cérémonies d'ouverture. Refusant d’abandonner, elle continue à s’entraîner et se qualifie pour les Jeux olympiques de 1984 de Los Angeles, où elle remporte l’argent en K2-500 m et le bronze ne K4-500 m.

Sue prend sa retraite peu après, mettant fin à une carrière d’athlète de 14 ans. Elle devient entraîneuse, conférencière spécialiste de la motivation, et travaille pour le Comité olympique canadien, avec lequel elle élabore des programmes de planification de carrière pour les athlètes de l’équipe nationale. Elle travaille sans relâche pour aider les jeunes en les inspirant surtout à devenir actifs physiquement.

Sue est planificatrice d’événements, championne du monde de bateau-dragon et passe un nombre incalculable d’heures comme entraîneuse de ski de fond pour enseigner aux athlètes de la prochaine génération et les motiver.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7