EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

CAROL HUYNH

Inducted in 2017

Member Details

Date of Birth: November 16, 1980
Place of Birth: Hazelton, British Columbia
Sport: Wrestling
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights

2008

Gold medal in the women’s 48 kg division at the Olympic Games in Beijing

2012

Won Bronze at the Olympic Games in London

Honoured Member CAROL HUYNH
Inspire

Story

The middle child of five siblings, Carol Huynh was born in Hazelton, British Columbia and was the first Canadian-born child after her family emigrated as refugees from Vietnam. She was introduced to wrestling by her high school coach and progressed in the sport, entering the University scene, first with Simon Fraser University. She won two World Championship medals, Bronze in 2000 and Silver in 2001, and was the World University Games Champion in 2005. Carol then moved to Alberta and started wrestling for the University of Calgary Dinos Wrestling Club in 2007.

Carol was a 2-time Junior National Champion (1999 and 2000), an 11-time Senior National Champion (2000-02, 2004-2008, and 2010-12), a two-time Pan American Games champion in 2007 and 2011, the 2010 Commonwealth Games champion, and a four-time world wrestling championship medallist (Silver in 2001, Bronze in 2000, 2005, and 2010). At the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, she was not favoured to win, but made history by becoming the first Canadian woman to win Olympic Gold in the women’s 48 kg division. It was Canada’s first-ever Olympic Gold medal in women’s wrestling and it was not long before she was on the podium once again when she won a Bronze medal at the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Carol retired from competitive wrestling after the 2012 Olympic Games, but has since given back to her sport and her community in multiple ways in Canada and around the world. When wrestling was taken out of the Olympic programme after the 2012 Olympic Games, Carol was chosen by fellow world-class wrestlers to advocate on their behalf at the 125th International Olympic Committee Session in Buenos Aires in 2013 to have wrestling readmitted which she did successfully. She is an assistant coach at the Dinos Wrestling Club at the University of Calgary and Next Generation coach at the Canadian Sport Institute in Calgary.

In early 2015, she was appointed as a United World Wrestling Super 8 Ambassador for the global campaign focusing on the development of women in wrestling and she is currently the President of the United World Wrestling Athletes Commission. Carol has exhibited passion, class, and extraordinary commitment to sport and her community throughout her career as an athlete, coach, and sports advocate. 


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

CAROL HUYNH

Intronisé en 2017

Détails membres

Date de naissance: Le 16 Novembre, 1980
Lieu d'origine: Hazelton, Colombie-Britannique
Sport: Lutte
Catégorie: Athlète

Faits saillants

2008

L'or olympique dans la catégorie des 48 kg aux Jeux Olympiques de 2008 à Beijing

2012

A remporté la médaille de bronze aux Jeux Olympiques de Londres

 

 

Honoured Member CAROL HUYNH
Inspire

Biographie

Carol Huynh est née à Hazelton, en Colombie-Britannique, la troisième de cinq frères et sœurs. Elle a été la première qui est née au Canada après que sa famille eut émigré au Canada à titre de réfugiés du Vietnam. Son entraîneur à l’école secondaire lui fait connaître la lutte et elle continue de progresser dans ce sport, en premier lieu au niveau universitaire, avec l’Université Simon Fraser. Elle mérite deux médailles lors des Championnats du monde, soit le bronze en 2000 et l’argent en 2001, et est couronnée championne des Jeux mondiaux universitaires en 2005. Elle déménage par la suite en Alberta en 2007 où elle devient membre du club de lutte des Dinos de Calgary.

Carol Huynh est championne canadienne junior à deux reprises (1999 et 2000) et 11 fois championne canadienne séniore (2000-02, 2004-2008 et 2010-12), championne des Jeux panaméricains en 2007 et 2011, championne des Jeux du Commonwealth en 2010 et médaillée à quatre occasions aux Championnats du monde de lutte (argent en 2001, bronze en 2000, 2005 et 2010). Aux Jeux olympiques de 2008 à Beijing, elle n'est pas la favorite pour l’emporter, mais elle marque l’histoire, devenant la première Canadienne à remporter l’or olympique dans la catégorie des 48 kg. Il s’agissait de la première médaille d’or olympique pour le Canada en lutte féminine et peu de temps après, elle se retrouve de nouveau sur le podium, remportant une médaille de bronze aux Jeux olympiques de 2012 à Londres.

Carol Huynh a pris sa retraite de la compétition après les Jeux olympiques de 2012, mais elle a redonné à son sport et à sa communauté de plusieurs façons au Canada et dans le reste du monde. Lorsque la lutte est retirée du programme olympique après des Jeux olympiques de 2012, Carol Huynh est choisie par ses pairs pour militer en leur faveur à la 125e réunion du Comité international olympique, à Buenos Aires, en 2013, pour que la lutte soit réintégrée aux Jeux, ce qu’elle réussit à faire. Elle agit comme entraîneure adjointe avec le club de lutte des Dinos de l’Université de Calgary et comme entraîneure de la prochaine génération à l’Institut national de sport, à Calgary.

Au début de l’année 2015, elle est choisie comme ambassadrice du United World Wrestling Super 8, campagne visant le développement de la lutte féminine, et elle est présentement présidente de la commission des athlètes de la fédération internationale United World Wrestling. Carol Huynh a fait preuve de passion, de classe et d’un engagement extraordinaire envers son sport et sa communauté tout au long de sa carrière en tant qu’athlète, entraîneure et dans la défense de son sport.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7