EN | FR
Inspiring Canadians - In Sport and Life

Honoured Member

DR. ROBERT W. JACKSON

Inducted in 2017

Member Details

Date of Birth: 1932
Date of Passing: January 6, 2010
Sport: Paralympic Games
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1993

Seen by many as the founder of the Canadian Paralympic movement 

1967

Helped create the Canadian Wheelchair Sport Association

Honoured Member DR. ROBERT W. JACKSON
Inspire

Story

The Canadian Paralympic movement’s roots began in Japan when Dr. Robert W. Jackson attended the 1964 Paralympic Games in Tokyo. Canada was not yet competing at the Paralympic Games, but Dr. Jackson, an Orthopaedic Surgeon who was working with the Canadian Olympic Team, experienced the competition firsthand.  He had already become aware and was interested in sports for people with a disability after witnessing the 10th Annual Stoke Mandeville Games in England in 1961.

In addition to his interest in the Paralympic Games, in 1965, Dr. Jackson began a 40-year mission to teach doctors in Canada and abroad the arthroscopic procedure to perform surgeries on knees and other joints without having to open up the joint fully. This technique significantly reduced the healing time for the patient, becoming one of the most important advances in orthopaedic surgery in this century, radically changing the treatment of sport injuries around the world.

In 1967, Dr. Jackson helped to create the Canadian Wheelchair Sport Association in order to send a team to the Paralympic Games and became the founding President, a role he held from 1967 to 1972. One year later, Canada was participating in the 1968 Paralympic Games in Tel Aviv. In 1972, he took on the responsibility for organizing the 1976 Olympiad for the Physically Disabled which was held in Toronto, parallel to the Olympic Games in Montreal, including paraplegic, amputee, and blind athletes from around the world. As a result of this competition and Dr. Jackson's leadership, the Canadian Federation of Sport Organizations for the Disabled was created, the pre-cursor to the Canadian Paralympic Committee.

Dr. Jackson, seen by many as the founder of the Canadian Paralympic movement, also saw the broader impact of parasport. He argued that if someone saw a person with a spinal cord injury bench press 400 pounds, then surely they could understand that the same person could also work a 40-hour week and be a contributing member of society. Dr. Jackson made it possible for Canada to be a leader in the Paralympic movement, and for persons with disabilities to rise up on the world's athletic stage and inspire others to follow in their path.  Paralympians inspire all Canadians, with and without a disability, to become involved in sports and reach their individual potential.  Dr. Jackson passed away on January 6, 2010 at age 78 having lived a full, giving, and selfless life. 


Our Address

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

EN | FR
Inspire les Canadiens – dans le sport et dans la vie
Retour en haut de page

adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7

Membre Intronisé

DR. ROBERT W. JACKSON

Intronisé en 2017

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 1932
Date du décès: Le 6 Janvier, 2010
Sport: Jeux olympiques
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1993

Vu par beaucoup comme le fondateur de la mouvement canadienne des paralympiques

 

1967

A contribué à la création de l’Association canadienne des sports en fauteuil roulant

Honoured Member DR. ROBERT W. JACKSON
Inspire

Biographie

Le mouvement paralympique canadien a pris naissance au Japon lorsque le docteur Robert W. Jackson a assisté aux Jeux paralympiques de 1964 à Tokyo. À ce moment, le Canada ne participait pas aux Jeux paralympiques, mais le docteur Jackson, un chirurgien orthopédique qui travaillait avec l’équipe olympique canadienne, a pu vivre en personne l’expérience de cette compétition. Il était déjà sensibilisé et était intéressé au sport pour les personnes vivant avec un handicap après avoir assisté aux 10e Jeux annuels de Stoke Mandeville, en Angleterre en 1961.

En plus de son intérêt pour les Jeux paralympiques, le docteur Jackson entreprend, en 1965, une mission qui durera 40 ans et qui a pour but d’enseigner aux médecins, au Canada et à l’étranger, une procédure arthroscopique d’opération aux genoux et autres articulations sans avoir à ouvrir l’articulation au complet. Cette technique réduit de façon significative la période de récupération pour les patients et est l’une des avancées les plus significatives en chirurgie orthopédique de ce siècle, modifiant radicalement le traitement des blessures sportives partout dans le monde.

En 1967, le docteur Jackson contribue à la création de l’Association canadienne des sports en fauteuil roulant, dans le but de déléguer une équipe aux Jeux paralympiques, et il en est le président fondateur, poste qu’il occupe de 1967 à 1972. Une année plus tard, le Canada prend part aux Jeux paralympiques de 1968 à Tel-Aviv. En 1972, il accepte la responsabilité d’organiser les Olympiades de 1976 pour les personnes physiquement handicapées qui ont eu lieu à Toronto, parallèlement aux Jeux olympiques à Montréal, et qui regroupaient des athlètes paraplégiques, amputés et aveugles de partout dans le monde. À la suite de cette compétition et du leadership du docteur Jackson, la Fédération canadienne des organisations sportives pour les personnes avec un handicap a été créée, précurseure du Comité paralympique canadien.

Le docteur Jackson est vu par plusieurs comme le fondateur du mouvement paralympique canadien et il a aussi réalisé l’impact plus grand du handisport. Il a fait valoir que si une personne ayant une lésion à la moelle épinière pouvait faire un développé-couché de 400 livres, alors surement cette même personne pouvait aussi faire une semaine de travail de 40 heures et être un membre pouvant contribuer à la société. Le docteur Jackson a fait en sorte que le Canada devienne un leader du mouvement paralympique et que les personnes avec un handicap puissent se faire valoir sur la scène mondiale et inspirent les autres à suivre leur exemple. Les Paralympiens sont une source d’inspiration pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes, avec ou sans handicap, les incitant à la pratique sportive et à réaliser leur plein potentiel. Le docteur Jackson est décédé le 6 janvier 2010, à l’âge de 78 ans, ayant vécu une vie bien remplie, faite de don de soi et d’altruisme.


adresse

169 Canada Olympic Road SW
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
T3B 6B7