Donate Today EN | FR
Hall of Famers

Hall of Famer


Inducted in 1977

Member Details

Sport: Rowing
Member Category: Athlete

Career Highlights


Outer Cove Rowing Crew won Fisherman's Race in record time of 9 min 13 3/4 seconds

Hall of Famer DENNIS CROKE


The Outer Cove rowing crew was the pride of their local Newfoundland fishing community. Daniel and Denis McCarthy, Martin Boland, John Whalen, Dennis Croke, John Nugent, and coxswain Walter Power made up this legendary crew that won the Fisherman's Race in 1901 in a record time of 9:13.75. The annual St. John's Regatta on Quidi Vidi Lake has been one of Newfoundland's most important sporting events since the early 1800's. On August 7, 1901, thousands of cheering fans turned out to witness the final Fisherman's Race between the rival communities of Outer Cove and Torbay. When the grueling 1.6 mile race was over, both teams had eclipsed the previous record; however, Outer Cove's boat, the "Blue Peter," nosed ahead to claim the race and establish the winning record. With this victory, the members of the Outer Cove Crew brought glory to their hometown and established themselves as Canadian heroes. The drama of their fabulous feat has even been chronicled in a poem entitled The Nine Thirteen Men. Their record was truly remarkable, and it stood unmatched for over 80 years.