Donate Today EN | FR
Hall of Famers

Hall of Famer

Judy Kent

Inducted in 2020-21

Member Details

Date of Birth: December 31, 1946
Place of Birth: Lethbridge, Alberta
Sport: Sport Administration
Member Category: Builder

Career Highlights

1994
First female Chef de Mission at the Commonwealth Games
1994-1998
Elected as President, Commonwealth Games Canada Association, the first woman to be a Commonwealth Association President and the first female voting delegate of the 72 country Commonwealth Federation
2002
Successfully advocated for six adaptive sports that were included as full medal sports in the Commonwealth Games
2003, 2004
Named as one of the Most Influential Women in Sport by Canadian Women & Sport (formerly Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport)
2006
Received the Commonwealth Games Canada Award of Merit
2016
First recipient of the Order of Merit from the Commonwealth Games Federation
Hall of Famer Judy Kent
Inspire

Story

A powerful vision of sport as a vehicle for social change has guided Judy Kent throughout her distinguished career as an athlete, coach, prolific author, consultant, and organizational leader. Judy first became involved in sport as a swimmer and coach at the senior and varsity level. She began working with Commonwealth Games Canada in 1987, and in 1992 became the first female voting delegate to attend an Annual General Assembly of the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF). From 1994 to 1998, she was the first female president of Commonwealth Games Canada, and served as the movement’s first female Chef de Mission at the 1994 Commonwealth Games in Victoria.  Determined to clear a path for others to follow, Judy established new initiatives to recruit and train more female leaders within the organization, and eventually ensured gender equity became one of five criteria the CGF use when selecting sports for competition.

Even as she was breaking the glass ceiling, Judy led the charge to make the Commonwealth Games the first major international multi-sport event to include athletes with a physical disability in an integrated competition schedule. Thanks to her advocacy, six adaptive sport events were successfully included as demonstration events at the 1994 Commonwealth Games in Victoria, paving the way for their eventual inclusion as full medal sports in 2002.  She also worked to create better opportunities for Indigenous athletes in Canada, guiding the foundation of the Aboriginal Sport Circle, facilitating joint American-Canadian sessions for the North American Indigenous Games and working with the Iqaluit Organizing Committee  in planning to host the Arctic Winter Games. Internationally, Judy has contributed expertise to many pioneering initiatives that use sport to address poverty, conflict and social issues in developing nations. Notably, she helped establish the Commonwealth Sport Development Program (CSDP), later known as International Development through Sport (IDP), which continues to provide support for children and youth in various parts of the Commonwealth today. In 2008, Judy also helped build the nascent organization, Generations for Peace based in Amman, Jordan, and trained over 1000 leaders from war-torn regions around the world to promote peace through sport and other community endeavours.

Judy Kent was named one of the Most Influential Women in Sport by Canadian Women & Sport (formerly known as Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport (CAAWS)) in 2003 and 2004. In 2006, she received the Commonwealth Games Canada Award of Merit, and in 2016 became the first recipient of the Order of Merit from the Commonwealth Games Federation.  Judy’s collaborative approach to leadership has enabled her to bring together people with very different ideas and agendas, to find common ground and achieve shared goals.  Her many years of dedicated service and passionate advocacy have built a truly ground-breaking legacy, reframing the possibilities for sport as a tool for social and community development in Canada and around the world.

Donate Today EN | FR
Membre intronisé

Membre du Panthéon

Judy Kent

Intronisé en 2020-21

Détails membres

Date de naissance: 31 décembre 1946
Lieu d'origine: Lethbridge, Alberta
Sport:
Catégorie: Bâtisseurs

Faits saillants

1994
Première femme à agir comme chef de mission aux Jeux du Commonwealth
1994-1998
Élue présidente de Jeux du Commonwealth Canada, devenant la première femme à agir à titre de présidente d’une Association des Jeux du Commonwealth et première femme à agir comme déléguée-votante au sein de la Fédération des Jeux du Commonwealth, qui rassemblait alors 72 pays.
2002
Grâce à son militantisme, six épreuves en sport adapté ont été ajoutées avec succès à titre de sports officiels
2003, 2004
Nommée sur la liste des femmes les plus influentes en sport par Femmes et sport Canada (autrefois l’Association canadienne pour l’avancement des femmes, du sport et de l’activité physique)
2006
Jeux du Commonwealth Canada lui a décerné le prix du mérite
2016
Première récipiendaire de l’ordre du mérite de la Fédération des Jeux du Commonwealth
Hall of Famer Judy Kent
Inspire

Biographie

Une vision forte du sport comme véhicule de changement social a guidé Judy Kent tout au long de son éminente carrière comme athlète, entraîneure, auteure prolifique, consultante et dirigeante d’organisations. Son implication en sport a débuté comme athlète et entraîneure en natation, au niveau senior et universitaire. Elle a commencé à travailler pour Jeux du Commonwealth Canada en 1987 et en 1992, elle est devenue la première femme à agir comme déléguée-votante à l’assemblée générale annuelle de la Fédération des Jeux du Commonwealth (FJC). De 1994 à 1998, elle a été la première femme présidente de Jeux du Commonwealth Canada et la première femme à agir comme chef de mission de cet organisme aux Jeux du Commonwealth de 1994 à Victoria. Déterminée à favoriser la présence d’autres femmes au sein de l’organisme, elle a mis en place de nouvelles initiatives pour recruter et former des leaders de sexe féminin et éventuellement, elle a fait en sorte que la parité des sexes soit l’un des cinq critères utilisés par la FJC pour sélectionner les sports au programme des Jeux.

Tout en brisant le plafond de verre, Judy Kent a mené la lutte pour que les Jeux du Commonwealth soient le premier événement international multisport à incorporer des athlètes ayant un handicap physique à l’horaire de compétition. Grâce à son militantisme, six épreuves en sport adapté ont été ajoutées avec succès à titre d’épreuves de démonstration aux Jeux du Commonwealth de 1994 à Victoria, pavant la voie pour leur ajout comme sports officiels en 2002. Elle a aussi œuvré pour offrir de meilleures opportunités aux athlètes autochtones au Canada, agissant comme conseillère lors de la création du Cercle sportif autochtone, agissant comme facilitatrice pour les séances conjointes États-Unis-Canada pour les Jeux autochtones de l’Amérique du Nord et travaillant avec le comité organisateur d’Iqaluit dans leur planification pour être hôte des Jeux d’hiver de l’Arctique. Sur la scène internationale, elle a offert son expertise à plusieurs initiatives innovantes qui utilisent le sport pour aborder la pauvreté, les conflits et les problèmes sociaux auprès des pays en voie de développement. Notamment, elle a aidé à mettre en place le Programme du Commonwealth de développement par le sport, devenu par la suite Développement international par le sport, qui continue encore aujourd’hui d’offrir du soutien aux enfants et adolescents à différents endroits du Commonwealth. En 2008, elle a aussi aidé à développer l’organisme naissant, Generations for Peace, basé à Amman, en Jordanie, et a formé plus de 1000 leaders venant de régions déchirées par la guerre partout dans le monde afin de promouvoir la paix par le sport et par d’autres initiatives communautaires.

Judy Kent a été nommée sur la liste des femmes les plus influentes en sport par l’Association canadienne pour l’avancement des femmes, du sport et de l’activité physique (ACAFS) en 2003 et en 2004. Jeux du Commonwealth Canada lui a décerné en 2006 le prix du mérite, et en 2016, elle a été la première récipiendaire de l’ordre du mérite de la Fédération des Jeux du Commonwealth. Son approche collaborative vis-à-vis le leadership lui a permis de réunir des gens ayant des idées et des agendas très différents, de trouver des bases communes et d’atteindre des objectifs communs. Ses nombreuses années de service dévoué et son militantisme passionné ont laissé un héritage inédit, recadrant les possibilités d’utiliser le sport comme outil de développement social et communautaire au Canada et partout dans le monde.